DNF: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass

Screen Shot 2015-12-15 at 9.31.20 PM.png

I guess I can’t exactly call this a review since I didn’t finish reading the book, but…

It’s always disappointing when you decide to DNF (or did-not-finish) a book, especially when you have high hopes for them.

With DNF reviews (I guess you could call it), I’ll talk about where I stopped, what I liked, why I stopped reading, etc.

23633796

Title: What’s Broken Between Us

Author: Alexis Bass

Genre: YA Contemporary

ISBN: 0062275356
Published: December 29th 2015 by HarperCollins
Series: n/a
Length: 241 pages
Source: eARC from publisher

Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Alexis Bass’s heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’sThe Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again–whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

Where did I stop reading?

I stopped at 39% on my Kindle app, which translates to roughly 94 pages.

What did I like about it?

I liked how the novel focused on a specific, touchy issue: drunk driving. I did not get much information from the first 100 pages, but I predicted it to be a raw, emotional ride.

Why did I decide to stop reading?

Honestly, I did not feel as if I was as connected as I wanted to in this novel. This book reminded me of THICKER THAN WATER by Kelly Fiore, which I absolutely adored, but I just felt confused and disconnected.

Who do I recommend this book to?

Obviously, DNFing this book was just my opinion; it just wasn’t right for me. But who knows? This novel could be your next favorite read.



Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “DNF: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass

  1. I had requested a review copy of this off Edelweiss but I never got around to reading it (Ooops) I’m sorry to see you didn’t like it, I know several people who didn’t like it. Having a connection (Even if it is small) is a big thing for me, if I lack a connection then I really don’t finish it. Great review!

    Amber | The Book Bratz

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s