Anticipated Additions To My TBR #7

blog graphics (22).png

I’ve recently discovered a few new books, and hence, I’ve added them to my Goodreads shelves! Today, I want to share a few of my newly added books with you! Click on the cover for a link to the Goodreads page!

Read More »

Advertisements

Review: A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

38720939.jpg
A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publication: October 16th 2018 by HarperTeen
Format: ARC

It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped.

Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.

But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

Read More »

The Reckoning of Noah Shaw by Michelle Hodkin Blog Tour (Playlist)

38191862
The Reckoning of Noah Shaw by Michelle Hodkin
Series:
The Shaw Confessions #2
Genre: YA Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Publication:  November 13th 2018 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Goodreads

Noah Shaw confesses all in this second novel of a chilling new companion series to Michelle Hodkin’s New York Timesbestselling Mara Dyer trilogy!

Noah Shaw doesn’t think he needs his father’s inheritance.
He does.

Noah believes there’s something off about the suicides in his visions.
There is.

Noah is convinced that he still knows the real Mara Dyer.
He does not. 

Everyone thought the nightmare had ended with Mara Dyer’s memoirs, but it was only the beginning. As old skeletons are laid bare, alliances will be tested, hearts will be broken, and no one will be left unscarred.

Read More »

Review: My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

36301023
My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows
Series:
 The Lady Janies #2
Genre: YA Historical, Retelling
Publication: June 26th 2018 by HarperTeen
Format: ARC

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre embarks on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap (!) and his uneven temper (!!), they fall in love—and, Reader, she marries him. (!!!)

Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Brontë, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

Read More »

The Speaker by Traci Chee Blog Tour (Character Outfit)

1.jpg
33566871.jpg
The Speaker by Traci Chee
Series:
 Sea of Ink and Gold #2
Genre: YA Fantasy, Romance

Publication: November 7th 2017 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Goodreads

Having barely escaped the clutches of the Guard, Sefia and Archer are back on the run, slipping into the safety of the forest to tend to their wounds and plan their next move. Haunted by painful memories, Archer struggles to overcome the trauma of his past with the impressors, whose cruelty plagues him whenever he closes his eyes. But when Sefia and Archer happen upon a crew of impressors in the wilderness, Archer finally finds a way to combat his nightmares: by hunting impressors and freeing the boys they hold captive.

With Sefia’s help, Archer travels across the kingdom of Deliene rescuing boys while she continues to investigate the mysterious Book and secrets it contains. But the more battles they fight, the more fights Archer craves, until his thirst for violence threatens to transform him from the gentle boy Sefia knows to a grim warrior with a cruel destiny. As Sefia begins to unravel the threads that connect Archer’s fate to her parents’ betrayal of the Guard so long ago, she and Archer must figure out a way to subvert the Guard’s plans before they are ensnared in a war that will pit kingdom against kingdom, leaving their future and the safety of the entire world hanging in the balance.

Read More »

The Brilliant Death Playlist (Blog Tour)

1.jpg
34198648
The Brilliant Death by Amy Rose Capetta
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Fantasy, LGBTQ

Publication: October 30th 2018 by Viking
Goodreads

For Teodora DiSangro, a mafia don’s daughter, family is fate.

All her life, Teodora has hidden the fact that she secretly turns her family’s enemies into music boxes, mirrors, and other decorative objects. After all, everyone in Vinalia knows that stregas—wielders of magic—are figures out of fairytales. Nobody believes they’re real.

Then the Capo, the land’s new ruler, sends poisoned letters to the heads of the Five Families that have long controlled Vinalia. Four lie dead and Teo’s beloved father is gravely ill. To save him, Teo must travel to the capital as a DiSangro son—not merely disguised as a boy, but transformed into one.

Enter Cielo, a strega who can switch back and forth between male and female as effortlessly as turning a page in a book. Teo and Cielo journey together to the capital, and Teo struggles to master her powers and to keep her growing feelings for Cielo locked in her heart. As she falls in love with witty, irascible Cielo, Teo realizes how much of life she’s missed by hiding her true nature. But she can’t forget her mission, and the closer they get to the palace, the more sinister secrets they uncover about what’s really going on in their beloved country—and the more determined Teo becomes to save her family at any cost.

Read More »

Review: Wrong in All the Right Ways by Tiffany Brownlee

35795906.jpg
Wrong in All the Right Ways by Tiffany Brownlee
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Publication: July 17th 2018 by Henry Holt and Company
Format: ARC (thank you, Macmillan!)

Everything in Emma’s life has always gone according to her very careful plans. But things take a turn toward the unexpected when she falls in love for the first time with the one person in the world who’s off-limits–her new foster brother, the gorgeous and tormented Dylan McAndrews.

Meanwhile, Emma’s AP English class is reading Wuthering Heights, and she’s been assigned to mimic Bronte’s style in an epistolary format. With no one to confide in, she’s got a lot to write about. Emma and Dylan try to constrain their romance to the page–for fear of threatening Dylan’s chances of being adopted into another home. But the strength of first love is all-consuming, and they soon get enveloped in a passionate, secretive relationship with a very uncertain outcome.

Read More »

Review: The Healer by Donna Freitas

36099169.jpg
The Healer by Donna Freitas
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Magical Realism, Contemporary
Publication: October 9th 2018 by HarperTeen
Format: ARC (thank you, Harper!)

Marlena Oliveira has—mysteriously, miraculously—been given the power to heal all kinds of ailments. People around the world believe she is a saint. But her power comes at a price: she can’t go to school, she can’t have friends her own age, and she certainly can’t date.

Then she meets Finn, a boy who makes her want to fall in love. For the first time, she begins to doubt whether her gift is worth all that she must give up to keep it.

Read More »

Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

38355173.jpg
The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Publication: October 2nd 2018 by Simon Pulse
Format: ARC (thank you, Simon!)

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Read More »

Review: A Blade So Black by L.L. McKinney

36952594.jpg
A Blade So Black by L.L. McKinney
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling
Publication: September 25th 2018 by Imprint
Format: ARC (thank you, Imprint!)

The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she’s trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.

Life in real-world Atlanta isn’t always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice’s handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she’s ever gone before. And she’ll need to use everything she’s learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head . . . literally.

Read More »