Book Look + Review: The Valiant by Lesley Livingston | Blog Tour + Giveaway

unnamed.jpg

I’m beyond thrilled to be on the blog tour for THE VALIANT! I absolutely loved this book, and I can’t wait to share my thoughts on it with you! Here’s a little bit about the book:

unnamed-1.jpg

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston
Series:
The Valiant #1
Genre: YA Fantasy, Historical
Publication: February 14th 2017 by Razorbill
Length: 384 pages
Format: ARC

Lost to history, the story of the female gladiator has never been told. Until now.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed while defending their home from the armies of Julius Caesar.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in her father’s war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured by ruthless brigands who sell her to an elite training school for female gladiators owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon s family might be her only hope of survival.
Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy.

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, “The Valiant” recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.”

Read More »

ARC Review: Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

24763621

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
Series: 
n/a
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retellings, Romance
Publication: February 7th 2017 by Thomas Dunne
Length: 448 pages
Format: eARC (Thank you, Thomas Dunne!)

Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

Read More »

Angst and Apologies | Life Update

So. It’s been a while. Technically, it hasn’t been that long; at least for me, it just seems like it has because of how damn busy I am. Legit, guys, I’m overwhelmed with school. So this post will be basically telling y’all about what I’m working through / ranting / giving updates about what to look forward on the blog soon.

I won’t consider this an official hiatus, and by no means am I leaving the book community as of today. I just felt obligated to say something to the people who have been visiting my blog even though I haven’t been posting regularly (thank you so much for checking out my posts anyway omg), and I totally apologize for that.

I’ve just been basically in a HUGE blogging and reading slump, and I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been so damn busy or it’s just the weather or something. Maybe both. Who knows. Either way, I’m exhausted.  If you’re interested, here’s a list of things on my mind:

  • chemistry IA that’s due next Wednesday
  • Spanish WA
  • chem quiz on Thursday
  • bio quiz on Thursday (on the transport system, which I REALLY need to study for)
  • history test on Friday
  • chemistry IA
  • literature timed writing on Friday
  • math quiz on Friday
  • chemistry IA
  • CHEMISTRY IA
  • spanish speaking presentation next week
  • TOK essay draft
  • the guy I’m talking to who I’ve been kind of neglecting these days b/c of school
  • college acceptances
  • financial aid
  • chemistry IA

Mind you, all those assessments on Thursday and Friday are THIS WEEK. So that’s 5 assessments in two days. Which is just dandy.

If you haven’t noticed already, I’m just inundated with angst and anxiety, and things are pretty overwhelming right now. I’m sure it’s all going to settle down soon, but right now, I just felt like I had to open up to the entire Internet. So there’s that.

I basically wasted 20 minutes writing up this post, but now I feel like I resolved something.

I definitely still will be posting sporadically for blog tours and (some) reviews, but for the most part, I’ll be super busy. Forgive me in advance if I don’t respond to all your comments—just know I read all of them and I’m so happy that you still comment and go through my blog even though I’m not putting as much effort into this blog as I would like.

Again, apologies for this angst-ridden post and my neglect of my blog recently. I’m hoping to be back on my feet by the summer or something. Or whenever this school year ends. By then, I’m hoping to have more life updates for y’all.

Thank you so much again for all your patience with me; I appreciate you sticking with me even though I’ve been a pretty crappy blogger. ❤

ARC Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

27883214

Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Series:
 Untitled #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication: January 31st 2017 by Flatiron Books
Length: 401 pages
Format: ARC

Before you enter the world of Caraval, you must remember that it’s all a game . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

Then, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation to Caraval finally arrives. So, Tella enlists a mysterious sailor’s help to whisk Scarlett away to this year’s show. But as soon as the trio arrives, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with her sister, with Legend, and with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Read More »

Makeup Looks Inspired by The Crown’s Fate! | The Tsar’s Guard Spotlight

unnamed-1.jpg

Hi everyone! Welcome to my stop on THE CROWN’S FATE spotlight tour! I’m super excited to be a part of this, and I can’t wait to share with you these makeup looks! Let’s get started! First, here’s a bit about the book in question:

unnamed.jpg

The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown’s Game #2
Length: 432 pages
Expected publication: May 16th, 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Buy LinksAmazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kepler’s Books

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Read More »