ARC Review: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 8.48.33 AM.png

21843165.jpg

Revenge and the Wild
by Michelle Modesto
Genre: YA Historical, Magic, Steampunk, Western
Publication: February 2nd 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Series: n/a
Length: 384 pages
Format: eARC

The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.

Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Nine years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.

But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.

This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.

Read More »

Edelweiss, E-Galleys, ARCs, oh my! | Tutorial & Tips for Using Edelweiss

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 8.15.26 PM

Edelweiss is most definitely one of my favorite e-galley sites from which to request titles. In fact, I reviewed some of my very first eARCS from this site, and I’ve come to love it so much! I know many bloggers don’t like it and get confused; I agree, it’s hard to find things you need if you don’t know what you’re looking for.

I didn’t start really using Edelweiss until a few months ago because I had never heard of it, and I had absolutely no idea how to use it. Lucky for you, I decided (with some decision-making help from friends on Twitter) to write up some tips / basic tutorials on how to tackle this baby.

Read More »

Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 9.35.25 PM

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find it more information here.

I’m not going to lie, I cry over books. I cry over good characterization, fantastic world-building, poignant language, etc. I literally cry over everything, to be honest. Anyway, today’s topic was a freebie so I wanted to list a few books that gave me a good cry so you can feel the pain too.

Read More »

ARC Review: Front Lines (Soldier Girl #1) by Michael Grant

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 10.41.09 PM

18743370

Front Lines
by Michael Grant
Genre: YA Historical, Alternate History
Publication: January 26th, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books
Series: Soldier Girl, #1
Length: 576
Format: eARC from publisher

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Read More »