– Top 15 Movies That Everyone Should Watch

Aside from reading books, I also thoroughly enjoy watching movies and TV shows. (I previously made a similar post about 5 TV shows to watch. You can check it out here.) Movies and TV shows are what I turn to when I have a book hangover or a book hiatus for any reason, and I owe them so much from saving me from the utter despair of boredom.

This is not a book-to-movie post, but rather just a list of movies that are not (to my knowledge) made from previously published books.

Let’s go!

This list is not in any particular order; I enjoyed these movies thoroughly.

1. Now You See Me (2013)

Charismatic magician Atlas (Jesse Eisenberg) leads a team of talented illusionists called the Four Horsemen. Atlas and his comrades mesmerize audiences with a pair of amazing magic shows that drain the bank accounts of the corrupt and funnel the money to audience members. A federal agent (Mark Ruffalo) and an Interpol detective (Mélanie Laurent) intend to rein in the Horsemen before their next caper, and they turn to Thaddeus (Morgan Freeman), a famous debunker, for help.

I loved this movie! Because some of my favorite actors are in this movie, I had a great time watching this. Fast-paced and exciting, I loved every part of it. I’m very excited for the sequel.

2. Clueless (1995)

Shallow, rich and socially successful Cher (Alicia Silverstone) is at the top of her Beverly Hills high school’s pecking scale. Seeing herself as a matchmaker, Cher first coaxes two teachers into dating each other. Emboldened by her success, she decides to give hopelessly klutzy new student Tai (Brittany Murphy) a makeover. When Tai becomes more popular than she is, Cher realizes that her disapproving ex-stepbrother (Paul Rudd) was right about how misguided she was — and falls for him.

This was a cute and sassy coming-of-age movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. It was funny and really made me feel warm inside.

3. 21 Jump Street (2012)

When cops Schmidt (Jonah Hill) and Jenko (Channing Tatum) join the secret Jump Street unit, they use their youthful appearances to go under cover as high-school students. They trade in their guns and badges for backpacks, and set out to shut down a dangerous drug ring. But, as time goes on, Schmidtand Jenko discover that high school is nothing like it was just a few years earlier — and, what’s more, they must again confront the teenage terror and anxiety they thought they had left behind.

I’ve watched this movie several times. It’s so funny, yet dirty and profanity-filled. Perfect for a Friday night at home.

4 & 5. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) and Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

It is 1941 and the world is in the throes of war. Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) wants to do his part and join America’s armed forces, but the military rejects him because of his small stature. Finally, Steve gets his chance when he is accepted into an experimental program that turns him into a supersoldier called Captain America. Joining forces with Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) and Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell), Captain America leads the fight against the Nazi-backed HYDRA organization.

After the cataclysmic events in New York with his fellow Avengers, Steve Rogers, aka Captain America (Chris Evans), lives in the nation’s capital as he tries to adjust to modern times. An attack on a S.H.I.E.L.D. colleague throws Rogers into a web of intrigue that places the whole world at risk. Joining forces with the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and a new ally, the Falcon, Rogers struggles to expose an ever-widening conspiracy, but he and his team soon come up against an unexpected enemy.

Captain America is one of my favorite superheroes, so I’m a huge fan of these movies. The casting is awesome as well; be prepared for a lot of screaming when your fav pops on screen (Sebastian Stan, my love).

6. LOL (2012)

In a world where connections via Facebook, Twitter and other social media networks are the norm, high-school student Lola (Miley Cyrus) is trying to navigate her way through the usual teen pressures of romance, friendship and overprotective parents (Demi Moore, Thomas Jane). Broken-hearted by a break-up with her boyfriend, Lola’s world turns upside-down when she realizes that her best friend, Kyle (Douglas Booth), could actually be the love of her life.

This is one of my favorite coming-of-age movies; it had me perfectly engrossed and fascinated. I loved this movie and most of the actors and actresses in this. Highly recommend if you’re into drama and romance!

7. The Breakfast Club (1985)

Five high school students from different walks of life endure a Saturday detention under a power-hungry principal (Paul Gleason). The disparate group includes rebel John (Judd Nelson), princess Claire (Molly Ringwald), outcast Allison (Ally Sheedy), brainy Brian (Anthony Michael Hall) and Andrew (Emilio Estevez), the jock. Each has a chance to tell his or her story, making the others see them a little differently — and when the day ends, they question whether school will ever be the same.

One of my first classics I watched, I totally adored this movie! It was fantastic, if slightly cheesy. But definitely in a good way. I would watch this a thousand times if I had to.

8. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) has an uncanny skill at cutting classes and getting away with it. Intending to make one last duck-out before graduation, Ferris calls in sick, “borrows” a Ferrari, and embarks on a one-day journey through the streets of Chicago. On Ferris’ trail is high school principal Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), determined to catch him in the act.

 

This was a fantastic movie! I highly enjoyed this. I would recommend this movie to those who enjoy comedy and classic!

9. Cheaper by the Dozen (2003)

Tom (Steve Martin) and Kate Baker (Bonnie Hunt) have compromised their careers to raise 12 children. Tom coaches a high-school football team, while Kate has retired from journalism to raise the family. Things change when Tom is offered a college coaching job in a new city at the same time a publisher buys Kate’s parenting memoir. After moving, Kate goes on a book tour, leaving Tom in charge of the children, who — already unhappy about relocating — plunge the household into chaos.

This movie, as well as the sequel(s), was one of my favorite movies growing up! I watched this movie and the second one when I was sick in bed, and I am eternally grateful I watched these when I did.

10. Home Alone (1990)

When bratty 8-year-old Kevin McCallister (Macaulay Culkin) acts out the night before a family trip to Paris, his mother (Catherine O’Hara) makes him sleep in the attic. After the McCallisters mistakenly leave for the airport without Kevin, he awakens to an empty house and assumes his wish to have no family has come true. But his excitement sours when he realizes that two con men (Joe Pesci, Daniel Stern) plan to rob the McCallister residence, and that he alone must protect the family home.

One of my favorite movies of all time, Home Alone is a fantastic movie, especially during the holiday season. I’ve watched this many times, and every time, I still seem to be able to laugh and enjoy this like it’s the first time I’ve watched it.

11. Titanic (1997)

James Cameron’s “Titanic” is an epic, action-packed romance set against the ill-fated maiden voyage of the R.M.S. Titanic; the pride and joy of the White Star Line and, at the time, the largest moving object ever built. She was the most luxurious liner of her era — the “ship of dreams” — which ultimately carried over 1,500 people to their death in the ice cold waters of the North Atlantic in the early hours of April 15, 1912.

 

Call me cheesy, but this movie will always be one of my favorites. I still cry every time. (I feel like I should be ashamed of this, but…) I remember that the first time I watched this I cried so hard that my nose started bleeding. Anyway. I still loved this movie, beginning to end.

12. Life of Pi (2012)

After deciding to sell their zoo in India and move to Canada, Santosh and Gita Patel board a freighter with their sons and a few remaining animals. Tragedy strikes when a terrible storm sinks the ship, leaving the Patels’ teenage son, Pi (Suraj Sharma), as the only human survivor. However, Pi is not alone; a fearsome Bengal tiger has also found refuge aboard the lifeboat. As days turn into weeks and weeks drag into months, Pi and the tiger must learn to trust each other if both are to survive.

I loved this movie! A thrilling and fantastic movie, I enjoyed every second of this. I’m still looking to read the book, but hopefully, that’s in the coming future!

13.Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)

Capt. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) arrives at Port Royal in the Caribbean without a ship or crew. His timing is inopportune, however, because later that evening the town is besieged by a pirate ship. The pirates kidnap the governor’s daughter, Elizabeth (Keira Knightley), who’s in possession of a valuable coin that is linked to a curse that has transformed the pirates into the undead. A gallant blacksmith (Orlando Bloom) in love with Elizabeth allies with Sparrow in pursuit of the pirates.

A fantastic movie with amazing actors, I highly enjoyed this action-packed film, tinged with humor. I’ve watched this several times as well as the 2nd and 3rd ones in this film series.

14. Pitch Perfect (2012)

Pitch Perfect movie poster.jpg

Beca, a freshman at Barden University, is cajoled into joining The Bellas, her school’s all-girls singing group. Injecting some much needed energy into their repertoire, The Bellas take on their male rivals in a campus competition.

 

 

 

 

I highly enjoyed this musical comedy. Even if you don’t like musicals that much (like me), this movie features awesome songs that you can’t help but to sing along.

15. The Lego Movie (2014)

Emmet (Chris Pratt), an ordinary LEGO figurine who always follows the rules, is mistakenly identified as the Special — an extraordinary being and the key to saving the world. He finds himself drafted into a fellowship of strangers who are on a mission to stop an evil tyrant’s (Will Ferrell) plans to conquer the world. Unfortunately for Emmet, he is hopelessly — and hilariously — unprepared for such a task, but he’ll give it his all nonetheless.

 

My younger sister introduced me to this movie, and although I thought that this movie would be cheesy, I turned out to absolutely love it! It features one of my favorite actors (Pratt), and I totally recommend it to everyone of all ages.


Have you watched any of these movies? See any movies that you liked as well?

One thought on “– Top 15 Movies That Everyone Should Watch

  1. […] Besides reading a good movie, I adore watching a good movie. Thus, I’d love to share with you some recent movies that I liked! I’ve written a few posts like these, such as 10 Book-to-Movies I Still Have to Watch and Top 15 Movies That Everyone Should Watch. […]

    Like

Leave a comment