Interview with Jolene @Fawkesfan74 | #WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?

My name is Jolene Wilson.  I live in Iowa, smack dab in the middle of the U.S.  It is a beautiful state with friendly people.  A great place to raise a family.  I started blogging in April so I guess five months.

What made you want to start book blogging in the first place? 

About 2 ½  years ago I started reading a lot more than normal.  My kids were older so I had more time to read.  I was reading 2-3 books a week and I would post about it on Facebook to my family and friends.  After about 2 years of this I was the go to person for book recommendations.  Someone suggested I start a blog.  I thought about it but was too overwhelmed because I wanted to include the 200 books I had already read.  When I finally came to terms with that it would be impossible to do that, I started blogging with my current reads.  It has been more cathartic than I thought it would be which is amazing.  I love having a creative outlet to talk about the books I have read instead of trying to keep them all in my head.  I also like that there is a record of the books I have read.  Maybe someday my kids and grandkids will read my old blog posts.  It is kind of like a time capsule in a way.

Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who?

Yes! I wouldn’t be anywhere without La La in the Library.  She has helped me so much.  She was so supportive of my decision to start blogging and answered all of my questions because I literally knew nothing about blogging.  She has also been great at letting me link up with her blog every week for her weekly feature of Tell Me Tuesday.  Here is her blog link  http://lalatoadstone.blogspot.com/

What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself?

At first my goal was to have lots of followers and be noticed by publishers but then I realized that was the WRONG goal.  Now my goal is to just read books, tell what I liked and didn’t like about them and share that with anyone who wants to know.  Even if one person wants to read one of my book recommendations then I am happy.  A more specific goal is to introduce adults like myself (people in their 30s, 40s etc.) that YA books are so amazing and we can learn so much from them. YA books are mostly what I review.

What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community?

I mostly do book review posts. If I meet an author, I post about that. I have posted about challenges which I think are fun.  I hope to do more of those next year.  I currently like doing bookstagrams which I want to start incorporating into my blog.  I am not sure what I want to see more of throughout the book community.  I like this idea of interviewing bloggers J It would be fun to see more interactions like that.

What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)?

I have only gotten physical ARCs at BEA in Chicago earlier this year.  I really didn’t enjoy the experience of watching people going crazy and grabbing more than one per person.  I mostly get my ARCs from Netgalley and First to Read.  I decided asking publishers to send me ARCs isn’t my thing.  I get enough from Netgalley, etc.  I usually only read 2 books a week, any more than that and I get stressed out and then reading becomes too stressful.  I want to keep reading fun and enjoyable.

What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone?

HARRY POTTER!!! I am also a huge fan of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.  The Fault in our Stars really changed how I viewed teenagers.  I work in a school, and it has really helped me relate to students.  I recommend Harry Potter to everyone even though some people just laugh when I suggest it.  There are so many great life lessons in those books; friendship, sacrifice, love, forgiveness. Plus they are so beautifully written, funny, and masterfully plotted out.  You will have a hard time finding books as genius and well-written as those.

What advice do you have for new book bloggers?

I would say just read, blog, and have fun.  Don’t try to compare yourself to bloggers that have been blogging a long time and have lots of followers. It is a good idea to read other blogs and comment on other blogs.   But do your own thing and read what makes you happy.

MEET THE BLOGGER

unnamed

I am a 41 year old blogger but that don’t let that fool you. I love Harry Potter (proud Ravenclaw), Disney, coffee, chocolate, and dogs. Ever since I was a little girl, I have loved to read! My favorite books to read (other than Harry Potter) are Contemporary YA books.  I have been married to my husband for 20 years and I have two teenagers, a son and a daughter.  I also have two dogs, Zeba and Bella. We all live happily in Iowa.

Links:  Blog // Facebook // Instagram  // Twitter // Pinterest

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do you have anything in common?

7 thoughts on “Interview with Jolene @Fawkesfan74 | #WTTN16

  1. Hi Jolene! It was great getting to know you and this interview has already turned me into a fan. I love that your so down to earth and you blog just for the sake of loving and discussing books – it’s the only reason people should be doing it IMO!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww… squishy hugs to you for the shout out. I am so happy you are loving blogging. I think a lot of book bloggers have the “all the ARCs” idea in the beginning. I know I did for the first couple of months. Ha ha. I totally agree with your sentiments about Harry Potter. I am going to liuynk this post in my The Sunday Post this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great interview Jolene! I agree about blogging being a creative outlet- it’s such a great way to share books that otherwise we would just be keeping to ourselves! And LaLa’s great- she’s so helpful to new bloggers and just so nice. A real gem in the community. I liked your answer about goals too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

