Interview with Liv @Grangerliv | WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Today, we’re here with Liv from Curly Hair Bibliophile! I’ve talked to Liv a few times on Twitter, and I’ve hosted her on my blog before, so I’m so happy to have her back!

unnamed

1. Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?
Hi everyone! My name is Liv, I have curly hair, and I love books! I’m originally from California, but I currently reside in the Dallas, Texas area! I have been blogging since January of 2016.
 
2. What made you want to start book blogging in the first place? 
I wanted to start book blogging so I could talk to people about books. Plain and Simple. In November/December 2015, I started playing with the idea of starting a blog when I discovered that book blogging was still around. One morning in January, I woke up and told myself to make a blog. I spent all day formatting the blog, and I’m so happy that I finally took the step and made one.
3. Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who?
4. What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself?
By my one year blogaversary, I would like…
1. To reach 500 twitter followers.
2. To reach 200 wordpress followers.
3. Attend two or three more book events.
4. Join more street teams.
5. Interact with publishers/authors more.
 
5. What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community?
I do book reviews, book tags, book weekly memes, and the occasional discussion post. I love to see all of those throughout the book community because it gives variety.
 
6. What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)?
I have a total of five physical ARCs. I have received all of them through booksfortrade or friends. (By the time this interview goes up, I should have already received an ARC from a publisher but that’s a secret shh). I think they are great marketing tools, but we forget that and it can cause quite a bit of drama in the book community.
 
7. What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone?
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is my absolute favorite book (well, if i had to choose one absolute favorite). The book I recommend to everyone is (no surprise) Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
 
8. What advice do you have for new book bloggers?
Give an answer to the following question: why are you a book blogger? If the reason is for ARCs/follows/etc. don’t bother. You won’t start your blog and then the next day wake up to emails from publishers. It takes time, effort, and dedication. For the first few months, you may feel like you are blogging to no one. That’s okay! It takes time to build an audience. Speaking of building an audience, if you don’t have one MAKE A TWITTER. Talking to people on Twitter is vital to getting your book-voice heard. Reach out. On twitter, look out for bloggers who need guest posters. By writing guest posts for different bloggers, you can reach someone else’s audience and possibly attract them to your own.

MEET THE BLOGGER

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 3.54.41 PM

Hi everyone! My name is Liv, and my personal blog is curlyhairbibliophile.wordpress.com. I have curly hair and I love to read (hence my blog name.) I love writing, reading, and traveling. I also love grammar, tea, cats, and the internet. I’ve been blogging for almost a year. I live in the North Texas area with my family, my dog, and my cat. You can reach me on my blog (see above), my Goodreads (curlyhairbibliophile), my Instagram (curlyhairbibliophile), or my Twitter (Grangerliv).

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do we have anything in common?

 

3 thoughts on “Interview with Liv @Grangerliv | WTTN16

  1. Hi Liv, great getting to know you! After checking out your blog I have instantly become a fan so you’re +1 follower to you blog goal! I love your reasons for blogging too and the fact your in it for the right reasons is another thing I love about you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

