TTT: Top Ten Futuristic Books I Love

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 8.39.41 PM

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find it more informationย here.

This week’s topic is all about the past and future; I decided to list top ten of my favorite futuristic/dystopian/post-apocalyptic books!

1. Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan | Although this is more of a fairy tale retelling, this novel has some dark futuristic aspects.

2. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers | This book’s setting is that of which murder and assassination is considered lawful.

3. Angelfall by Susan Ee | One of my favorite books, this novel tells of a girl who attempts survival of a angel post-apocalypse.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth | As you probably already know, Divergent’s setting is that of a futuristic dystopianย society.

5. Enclave by Ann Aguirre | Set in another post-apocalyptic time period, Enclave is an incredibly engrossing read.

6. The Host by Stephenie Meyer | This book also has a post-apocalyptic setting in which aliens, known as “souls,” have taken over the world.

7. The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey | This wonderfully-written and witty book also has a futuristic, alien post-apocalypse as its setting.

8. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis | This novel also has a post-apocalyptic setting, but the main characters don’t adventure much outside of their home.

9. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff | Possibly the most hyped up books of 2015 (which I still haven’t read), Illuminae has a really intriguing setting (at least that’s what I hear).

10. The 100 by Kass Morgan | Probably some of my favorite books and favorite show, The 100 has a setting of the aftermath of a nuclear post-apocalypse.

So there are my top ten favorite futuristic books! What are some of yours?

27 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Futuristic Books I Love

  1. Ah, what a great list! So many of these I actually haven’t read, but I hope to soon (especially Assassin’s Heart and Reign of Shadows). I LOVED Angelfall, and really liked Divergent but didn’t like the ending of the series, sadly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I watch The 100 and enjoy it, how are the books in comparison? I’ve gotta check out the others on the list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, thank you so much Anissa! You definitely should read Assassin’s Heart and RoS; I loved them! I never finished Divergent haha, but I heard many people didn’t like it…the books are pretty good as well! They’re quite different from the show, but they’re worth checking out! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Angelfall is one of my favourite Apocalyptic settings. I just love how brutal and bloody it is. There’s no sugar coating in that series and there’s a real sense of fear in the books. Illuminae is another favourite of mine and while we didn’t really explore much of the landscape of the world in the first book, there are still some good foundations made that can be explored in the second book. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m planning to read Assassinโ€™s Heart and Divergent at some point, a lot of people I know loved Divergent, even though futuristic is not really my thing (I read medieval fantasy mostly) it sounds intriguing enough I will read it hopefully this year ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m a huge fan of assassin stories so I’m picking up Assassinโ€™s Heart too. Very nice list!

    Like

  4. Awesome list! I’ve read almost every one of those books you’ve listed. Angelfall and DIvergent are definitely great reads. Pretty soon I’m going to read Assassin’s heart so I hope I’ll like it too. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

