Monthly Recap: March 2016

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 8.14.52 PM

Happy last day of March! Can you believe April Fool’s is tomorrow?

In this post, I’ll be recapping my month, including what I read, what I posted, what I hauled, and my progress on my bookish challenges. I’ll also be looking forward to next month, including my (tentative) TBR and other posts coming up! Let’s get started!

Read More »

TTT: Top Ten Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 8.39.41 PM

Happy Tuesday! And you know what that means… Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find it more information here.

This week’s topic is top ten of my favorite 5-star reads. I share a lot of my favorite books in many of my posts/tweets, so you may or may not have seen some already. Let’s get started!

Read More »

Do You Change Ratings? | Discussion

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 2.58.48 PM

I recently went through my “read” list in Goodreads, and while I was looking through the books I’ve read, I had several sudden impulses to change my ratings—I thought a few deserved an extra star, some I wanted to take away a star. These books were ones that I had written reviews for, in which I was quite positive with my feelings about them, which begs the question: should I change the rating? If so, wouldn’t this really override my original thoughts on this book?

Read More »

6, er, 7 Month Blogoversary + Giveaways!

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 5.26.26 PM

Hi everyone! So this post is LONG overdue. As you may see from the title, this is my blogoversary of a more than half a year!

I started my blog at the end of summer 2015. Since then, I’ve posted regularly and interacted with people on Goodreads, Twitter, you name it. Honestly, I can’t say how happy I am to interact with you and be part of such a welcoming and lovely bookish community.

Read More »

ARC Review: The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 4.25.18 PM.png

23546634.jpg

The Way I Used To Be
by Amber Smith
Genre: YA
Publication: March 22nd 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Series: n/a
Format: eARC from publisher

Goodreads

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn’t change who she was. But the night her brother’s best friend rapes her, Eden’s world capsizes.

What was once simple, is now complex. What Eden once loved—who she once loved—she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true, is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she’s supposed to tell someone what happened but she can’t. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

Told in four parts—freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior year—this provocative debut reveals the deep cuts of trauma. But it also demonstrates one young woman’s strength as she navigates the disappointment and unbearable pains of adolescence, of first love and first heartbreak, of friendships broken and rebuilt, and while learning to embrace a power of survival she never knew she had hidden within her heart.

Read More »

ARC Review: This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 7.15.05 PM.png

24039424

This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Publication: March 22nd 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Series: n/a
Length: 304 pages
Format: eARC from publisher

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

Read More »

I’m Having a B(haul) | 13 Books Hauled

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 1.49.22 PM

I recently got a whole ton of books so here’s a fun book haul for you! I’m really excited to share the books I’m going to (hopefully) start reading! Let’s get started!

I received SUFFER LOVE by Ashley Herring Blake from Dahlia Adler (thank you!), and it looks really good. It looks like a sweet contemporary/romance, so I’m probably going to like this one.

I also received THE WAY I USED TO BE by Amber Smith from Simon & Schuster (thank you!). I finished reading this a few days ago, and let me tell you: this was so heartbreaking and amazing. My review + my stop on the blog tour will go up soon!

Laurie Elizabeth Flynn’s FIRSTS is also a book I’m really interested in reading! From the synopsis, it really challenges social norms, so I’m SUPER excited to read this one! Thank you, Macmillan!

Read More »