Review: Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush

25843018.jpg
Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy
Publication: October 3rd 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Series: Devils & Thieves #1
Length: 336 pages
Format: ARC from publisher (Thank you!)

Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael has grown up surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called “kindled,” and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. It doesn’t help that she was also recently snubbed by Crowe, the dangerous and enigmatic leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang and the unofficial head of their turf.

When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumour begins spreading that someone is practising forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her magic. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all.

DEVILS AND THIEVES was my first Jennifer Rush novel and my first paranormal / urban fantasy novel in a very long time. If you enjoy motorcycle gangs, magic, and angsty romances, I’m sure you would love this one!

This novel follows Jemmie as she gets challenged by a mystery person performing forbidden romance while also dealing with her tumultuous love life. I finished this novel in one sitting because the pacing was incredibly fast and Rush was able to unravel the plot in a very intriguing way. The plot was fascinating and left me with a hangover in preparation for the next novel in this paranormal series.

I connected a lot with Jemmie in terms of her fluctuating emotions and insecurities with her magic and her talents. She was quite sarcastic, to which I connected quite well. The other characters, such as Crowe, Darek, Alex, and Jemmie’s estranged father, allowed for an interesting dynamic between her and the rest of the characters. While most of the side characters were placed on, well, the side, I did feel like that helped develop Jemmie’s character and her growing magic.

Overall, I liked this first book in Rush’s new urban fantasy series. While I haven’t read an urban fantasy novel in a very long time, I did appreciate this throwback. If you enjoy magic, the paranormal, and urban fantasy, be sure to check this one out! This series is perfect for fans of Katie McGarry and the Beautiful Darkness series.

Thank you to the Novl for sending me a copy of this in exchange for an honest review. 

unnamed

alice name.pngAlice is an 18 year old college student who loves the oxford comma, television shows, and the company of dogs. She finds writing in the third person odd yet enjoyable. You can find her scrolling through Twitter, Instagram, and forever organizing her shelves on Goodreads.

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

Are you planning to read this book? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Review: Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s