#ReadADessen: The Moon and More Playlist + Giveaway!

unnamed.jpg

If you weren’t aware, Sarah Dessen is coming out with a new novel, ONCE AND FOR ALL, and until its release, Penguin is hosting a tour to feature all of Sarah’s previous novels! This week I’m featuring THE MOON & MORE!

23281629.jpg

The Moon & Moore by Sarah Dessen
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance

The perfect life?

At first glance, Emaline seems to have it all. A great boyfriend, a close-knot family, an idyllic beach town to call home. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Then she meets Theo, an ambitious young New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. He’s sophisticated and exciting, and thinks Emaline is destined for bigger things.

Emaline wants the moon and more, but can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Read More »

Book Look + Review: The Valiant by Lesley Livingston | Blog Tour + Giveaway

unnamed.jpg

I’m beyond thrilled to be on the blog tour for THE VALIANT! I absolutely loved this book, and I can’t wait to share my thoughts on it with you! Here’s a little bit about the book:

unnamed-1.jpg

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston
Series:
The Valiant #1
Genre: YA Fantasy, Historical
Publication: February 14th 2017 by Razorbill
Length: 384 pages
Format: ARC

Lost to history, the story of the female gladiator has never been told. Until now.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed while defending their home from the armies of Julius Caesar.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in her father’s war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured by ruthless brigands who sell her to an elite training school for female gladiators owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon s family might be her only hope of survival.
Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy.

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, “The Valiant” recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.”

Read More »

Asexuality in Literature | Interview with Calista Lynne, Author of We Awaken

I’m always interested in LGBTQ+ books, especially books that talk about topics that don’t get enough attention in the book community. For instance, I’ve never read a book that dealt with asexuality, so when Calista Lynne approached me wondering if I would be willing to feature her and her book on my blog, I was super interested. Without further ado, let’s learn a little about her book! Keep reading for an interview with Calista as well!

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.07.00 AM

5358cb50-997e-4c66-b087-2278a8bc5e23.jpg

We Awaken by Calista Lynne
Series: n/a
Genre: YA Fantasy, LGBTQ+
Publication: July 14th 2016 by Harmony Ink Press
Length: 180 pages

Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an otherworldly girl named Ashlinn, who bears a message from Victoria’s comatose brother. Ashlinn is tasked with conjuring pleasant dreams for humans, and through the course of their nightly meetings in Victoria’s mind, the two become close. Ashlinn also helps Victoria understand asexuality and realize that she, too, is asexual.

But then Victoria needs Ashlinn’s aid outside the realm of dreams, and Ashlinn assumes human form to help Victoria make it to her dance audition. They take the opportunity to explore New York City, their feelings for each other, and the nature of their shared asexuality. But like any dream, it’s too good to last. Ashlinn must shrug off her human guise and resume her duties creating pleasant nighttime visions—or all of humanity will pay the price.

Read More »

Blog Tour: Changes Places With Me by Lois Metzger | Floral Inspirations + Giveaway

46cba5c4-7ef5-454c-a4c1-bfe876d9dbff.jpg

Hi everyone! Welcome to my stop on the CHANGE PLACES WITH ME blog tour! Today’s post will include a original floral inspirations feature as well as a giveaway for 3 finished copies of the book. Let’s get started!
Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.07.00 AM
27064372
Changes Places With Me by Lois Metzger
Genre: YA Science Fiction, Fantasy
Publication: June 14th 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Series: n/a
Length: 224pages
Format: eARC from publisher

Rose has changed. She still lives in the same neighborhood with her stepmother and goes to the same high school with the same group of kids, but when she woke up today, something was just a little different than it was before. The dogs who live upstairs are no longer a terror. Her hair and her clothes all feel brand-new. She wants to throw a party—this from a girl who hardly ever spoke to her classmates before. There is no more sadness in her life; she is bursting with happiness.

But something still feels wrong to Rose. Because, until very recently, Rose was an entirely different person—a person who is still there inside her, just beneath the thinnest layer of skin.

Read More »