Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

38355173.jpg
The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Publication: October 2nd 2018 by Simon Pulse
Format: ARC (thank you, Simon!)

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Capture

THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is a sweet, quick read, perfect for summer. This novel follows Ali and her ex-boyfriend, Nico, as they take a road trip up to Crescent City to trade her late father’s convertible for money that she needs to save her house from foreclosure. Along the way, Nico and Ali rekindle their relationship and meet plenty of new people.

This novel reminded me a lot of STARRY EYES in that two exes are forced to go on a trip together, their relationship having ended due to a misunderstanding. While I wasn’t a huge fan of the reveal of the reasons behind their breakup, it did make for very interesting banter between the exes.

This writing is easy to follow, and has a sort of whimsical atmosphere – whether it’s the settings that Ali and Nico go to or the antique-y, road-trip-y vibes that cause this atmosphere, Brody makes this novel fun and unique in its chapter headings (love the inventory portion) and how fast the plot unravels (four/five days).

Overall, I really enjoyed this road trip novel! If you loved STARRY EYES by Jenn Bennett or if you like second chance romances and stories that focus on the meanings behind simple, everyday items, you’ll be sure to enjoy this novel as well!

Thank you to Simon for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

unnamed

alice name.pngAlice is an 19 year old college student who loves the oxford comma, television shows, and the company of dogs. She finds writing in the third person odd yet enjoyable. You can find her scrolling through Twitter, Instagram, and forever organizing her shelves on Goodreads.

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

Are you planning to read this book? Let me know in the comments below!

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s