Review: Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

38469737.jpg
Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Publication: September 4th 2018 by Albert Whitman & Company
Format: ARC

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

Capture

I saw a lot of hype for IGNITE THE STARS and I have to admit, I was swept up as well. I’m so happy to have gotten the opportunity to read an early copy of this book, and let me tell you – you definitely want to preorder this one!

IGNITE THE STARS follows Ia (pronounced eye-yah), who is the Olympus Commonwealth’s most wanted criminal. In spite of all the rumors that Ia Cocha is a formidable man, she is actually a teenage girl. The Commonwealth enlists her to join their military academy, and along the way, she meets Brinn and Knives.

This novel had a lot of LEGEND and THRONE OF GLASS vibes, so if you enjoy those popular series, you will definitely enjoy this novel. This novel is really focused on Ia and the relationships that she learns to build, but there are still really interesting aspects of the world that she lives in as well as the politics that surround them. There’s also a nice romance, but don’t worry – it didn’t overshadow the plot or the characters, which I enjoyed.

Overall, IGNITE THE STARS is an enjoyable debut! I’m hoping that Milan will write a sequel to this novel, as I look forward to reading more about our three protagonists. Be sure to preorder this one!

Thank you to the publisher for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review. 

unnamed

alice name.pngAlice is an 19 year old college student who loves the oxford comma, television shows, and the company of dogs. She finds writing in the third person odd yet enjoyable. You can find her scrolling through Twitter, Instagram, and forever organizing her shelves on Goodreads.

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

Are you planning to read this book? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Review: Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

  1. This book sounds fun to read. I enjoy “hints” of romance in my YA novels that don’t overshadow the plot. Great characters are a must for me and this debut will be on my must read list. Ia sounds strong and that’s how female characters must be in the books I read. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s