Review: The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross

35098412
The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross
Series:
 Untitled #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication:  February 6th 2018 by HarperTeen
Length: 464 pages
Format: ARC (thank you, Harper!)

When her seventeenth summer solstice arrives, Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron.

Growing up in the southern Kingdom of Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her for such a life. While some are born with an innate talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she belatedly chose to study knowledge. However, despite all her preparations, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—the solstice does not go according to plan and she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, and with no other choices, she accepts. But there is much more to his story, and Brienna soon discovers that he has sought her out for his own vengeful gain. For there is a dangerous plot being planned to overthrow the king of Maevana—the archrival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the northern throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

With war brewing between the two lands, Brienna must choose whose side she will remain loyal to—passion or blood. Because a queen is destined to rise and lead the battle to reclaim the crown. The ultimate decision Brienna must determine is: Who will be that queen?

Capture

I was immediately interested in this novel because of its gorgeous cover and intriguing synopsis. Before picking this one up, I was a bit afraid that this wouldn’t live up to my expectations, but my, oh my, it exceeded everything I wanted in a fantasy novel. THE QUEEN’S RISING is a wonderful piece of work, and I’m so glad it broke my fantasy-book-hiatus.

THE QUEEN’S RISING has a pretty intricate plot and background so for best success in reading this novel, be sure to read carefully because it can be difficult and confusing to keep track of all the characters, attributions, and locations. That being said, despite the wide array of aspects to keep track of, the world-building was quite impressive. Ross develops the novel with such rich and luscious descriptions and kept me turning the pages.

Brienna was a fantastic main character – I loved the way she responded to her struggles and her conflicts with which whom she allied. She is introduced to a variety of new characters, and she reacted to many of these characters with hesitation and distrust, which I could relate to very much. Additionally, her relationship with Cartier, her master, is forged out of a slow-burn, which will definitely please fans of minimal romance. My only reservation is that I was a bit iffy about her relationship with Cartier, since he was her professor/teacher/master.

Overall, THE QUEEN’S RISING acts as a standalone, wrapping up nicely while incorporating deftly woven political intrigue, slow romance, some magic, and an action-packed climax. I look forward to Rebecca Ross’s next work, and I hope you will too.

Thank you to Harper for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

unnamed

alice name.pngAlice is an 18 year old college student who loves the oxford comma, television shows, and the company of dogs. She finds writing in the third person odd yet enjoyable. You can find her scrolling through Twitter, Instagram, and forever organizing her shelves on Goodreads.

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

Are you planning to read this book? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Review: The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross

  1. I didn’t realize The Queen’s Rising was a standalone! The cover looks so beautiful. From everything I hear, the author puts a lot of effort in making it a special fantasy. I can’t wait to check it out!

    Like

  2. I just found this book the other day and it looks like something I would enjoy. I was wary when they pitched it as “Perfect for fans of The Red Queen”. See, I loved Red Queen but not its sequel so I wasn’t sure how to take that pitch 😛 I’m glad you liked it! I have it marked at my library to read sometime soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s