Review: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn

Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Hate to Love
Publication: July 18, 2017 from Swoon Reads
Series: N/A
Length: 256 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is.

So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired.

But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.

Huge thanks to my friends from Macmillan International for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not, in any way, affect my overall opinion of the book and/or the story.

Those who know me well would probably have it memorized by now that I am always on the lookout for light, contemporary novels. It’s an added bonus if it’s a fast-paced one. And that’s exactly what I got in Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn. Also, the story falls under the “hate to love trope”, which I’m currently trying to get accustomed to, so I guess it’s a no-brainer to say that I enjoyed reading Jennifer’s YA debut.

One of the reasons why I liked this book is because of how much I related to the MC, Quinn. As a reader can already tell, Q can easily hold a grudge over someone. As a side note, one unobvious fact that a lot of my friends don’t probably know is that I, just like Quinn, can hold a grudge for a very long time. It’s a bad habit, I admit, but sometimes, I just can’t help it. But going back to my review, to see Quinn be so upset with Wesley almost all throughout the book made me realize just how hard it is to live a life filled with hatred and anger. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s quite enlightening and oddly satisfying to see this small aspect of myself on paper.

On the negative side, however, (and I know this is going to sound contradictory to what I first mentioned, but) I felt like her anger towards Wesley took up almost the entire story. Obviously, this aspect of the story gets old and absolutely very tiring, and it honestly didn’t come as a surprise to me. It isn’t a new concept, so readers who know the trope well would probably be able to guess. Personally, though, I thought the ending was very cute but just a bit rushed. I did like the romance, though.

But another factor that I liked about Quinn’s story is the addition of a sick grandma. I don’t know why, but I really have a soft spot for sick and/or troubled (or sometimes, broken) characters. In this book, Q’s grandma has Alzheimer’s, and there are scenes that just stuck to me and tugged on my heartstrings. (Can you imagine my sorrow now?) I’m glad, though, that everything seemed to turn out okay for Quinn in the end.

“Quinn and Wesley’s love story was, in all fairness, enjoyable. Readers who like short and light novels would find satisfaction in this book. It can be gripping, most especially to those who could relate to the main character. Wesley James Ruined My Life is definitely recommendable for readers who want a fast-paced read and long-time fans of the hate to love trope.”

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

Are you fond of the Hate to Love trope? If so, give me some recs! Also, have you read Wesley James Ruined My Life? What did you think of it? Let me know via the comments section below!

unnamed

Arctic Books general graphics JMJM is a 21 year old blogger from Manila. He has a degree in Hotel and Restaurant Managment mainly because it was too late when he discovered that literature and publishing is his true calling. He enjoys reading contemporary and fantasy novels as much as he enjoys playing video games and baking pastries. You may find him on Twitter, Instagram, and on Goodreads.

unnamed

4 thoughts on “Review: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn

  1. I do like the hate to love trope, but I can’t remember if I’ve read books with that trope? This sounds like a fun read though, though it’s good to know going in that Quinn’s anger takes up a lot of the story! Great review 🙂

    Like

  2. I loveee that trope, it makes everything more dynamic because of the sparks flying all the time. Another good contemporary with that trope that I love so much is So Over You, by Gwen Hayes. Haven’t read Wesley James Ruined my Life, but it sounds like fun!

    Like

  3. I love the cover of this book! I read “The Hating Game” recently, which is an adult romance with the “Love to Hate” trope. It was SO good! I also have “Dating You/Hating You” waiting to be read.

    Thanks for the review! I’ve added this book to my TBR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

