Review: Vanguard by Ann Aguirre

25740472.jpg
Vanguard by Ann Aguirre
Genre:
YA Dystopia, Science Fiction
Publication: July 25th 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
Series: Razorland #4
Length: 368 pages
Format: ARC from publisher (thanks!!)

The Razorland saga continues. Since the war ended, Tegan has dreamed of an epic journey, so when she has the opportunity to sign on as ship’s doctor, she can’t wait. It’s past time to chart her course. Millie Faraday, the kindest girl in the free territories, also yearns to outrun her reputation, and warrior-poet James Morrow would follow Tegan to the ends of the earth.

Their company seems set, but fate brings one more to their number. Tegan will battle incredible odds while aiding Szarok, the Uroch vanguard, who has ventured forth to save his people. Szarok is strange and beautiful, like a flower that blooms only in the dark. She shouldn’t allow him close, as such a relationship is both alien and forbidden. But through stormy seas and strange lands, she will become stronger than she ever knew.

I read the ENCLAVE series around two years ago, and it had become one of my favorite post-apocalyptic, action trilogies around. When I heard about VANGUARD, the companion novel to the series, I jumped at the opportunity to read and review it! VANGUARD follows several characters in multi-perspective chapters.

I enjoyed reading about Tegan’s story—while I enjoyed Deuce’s perspective in the original series, I liked seeing more about Tegan and the events that she had to endure before the end of the war. Deuce and Fade do make small appearances throughout the novel, but it was more about Tegan’s development as a greater and growing healer after the war.

I was a bit iffy about the romance, both between Millie and James as well as Tegan and Szarok. However, upon further reflection, I find that the two romances were incredibly well-matched, both in terms of Millie and James’s yearning for more, and Tegan and Szarok’s learning and bridging the differences between the Uroch and humans. That being said, I found that I enjoyed reading more about Tegan and Szarok’s relationship developing than I did Millie and James. But that’s just me.

Overall, I found that VANGUARD is a lovely reminder of the action-packed world of the Razorland series. I do, however, recommend rereading the ENCLAVE series before diving into VANGUARD, as I found it difficult to remember who was whom, and what was actually going on. If you’re a fan of post-apocalyptic action and adventure novels, I highly recommend this series and its companion.

Thank you to Macmillan for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

unnamed

alice name.pngAlice is an 18 year old college student who loves the oxford comma, television shows, and the company of dogs. She finds writing in the third person odd yet enjoyable. You can find her scrolling through Twitter, Instagram, and forever organizing her shelves on Goodreads.

unnamed

Arctic Books post graphics (1)

What are your thoughts? Are you planning to read this book? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Review: Vanguard by Ann Aguirre

  1. I love, love , looooved Enclave! I was so excited when I found out there was going to be a spin-off series. I have this as an ARC but haven’t read it yet, so I can’t wait to start. Glad to hear it’s action packed, that’s one reason I loved the Enclave series. I also loved the growth of all of the characters, the story lines, and even the ‘freaks’.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

Leave a Reply

