Mini Reviews: Dividing Eden, One of Us Is Lying, & Words in Deep Blue

blog graphics (8).png

Here are some mini-reviews of a few recent books I’ve read, so take a peek! Let’s get started!

32051572

Dividing Eden by by Joelle Charbonneau
Publication: June 6th, 2017 by HarperTeen
Rating: 4.5/5 stars


 

Thank you to HarperTeen  for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this review.


I loved Joelle’s THE TESTING trilogy, so I was immensely excited to start this new series. I was pretty impressed by the competition plot, and I’m looking forward to reading the next installment.

I really enjoyed reading from the perspectives of Carys and Andreus, partly because each of them had vices and secrets that were very interesting to read about, and partly because I didn’t know for whom to root. I’m still shook over the ending, and I’m definitely itching to get my hands on the next book.

Do I recommend? Definitely! While I didn’t necessarily feel it, I know other reviewers thought that there was quite a bit of info-dumping. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed it!


32571395.jpg

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus
Publication: May 30th 2017 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 3.5/5 stars


Thank you to Delacorte Press for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this review.


 

I was incredibly excited when I was approved for a galley for this new release—I hadn’t read a mystery/thriller novel in a while but I had been watching many drama/mystery shows recently.

I don’t want to spoil anything, but I was sucked in as soon as I read the first page. Reminiscent of Pretty Little Liars, this novel revolves around the lives of a few students, plagued by a stalker-like character knowing their darkest and dirtiest secrets. I enjoyed the idea of The Breakfast Club & murder mystery combined, and I thought the ending was very creative, something I did not see at all. If you enjoy murder mystery/drama shows, like Psych or Monk, I definitely recommend this one. The only reservation I have is that the multi-perspective chapters just felt all the same, all of the characters seemed to have the same voice.

Do I recommend? Yes! I thought the murder mystery was incredibly creative, and it’s sure to make you read way past your bedtime.


31952703.jpg

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Publication: June 6th 2017 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Rating: 3/5 stars


Thank you to Knopf  for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this review.


I didn’t know what to expect when I picked this contemporary up, but I was pretty enamored with it by the time I was finished.

The plot revolves around Henry and Rachel, when Rachel returns to the city after the death of her brother. I found the romance and tangled love ties to be pretty interesting to read, and the grief that Rachel felt was tangible. I also loved the idea of the Letter Library, and the snippets of letters passed back and forth through the books in Henry’s family’s bookshop.

Do I recommend? Yes. Although some of the parts in this book were quite boring and bland, I found the plot revolving around grief and second chance love moving.


Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below!

17 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Dividing Eden, One of Us Is Lying, & Words in Deep Blue

  1. I’ve been thinking about picking up Dividing Eden. Good to know what I’m in for. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. i haven’t read any of these books, but the first 2 are high on my tbr! i’m glad dividing eden and one of us is lying met your expectations, i can’t wait to read them! i also dislike it when a book is written in multi povs, but they sound similar… it’s confusing 😀

    Like

  3. The first two I definitely want to read! Glad you enjoyed all of these for the most part. Thanks for the reviews 🙂

    Like

  4. I loved Dividing Eden too! I definitely didn’t think there was too much info-dumping either. And Carys is my new favorite heroine.

    I want to read One of Us is Lying so bad! Glad you liked it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

