Favorite Post-Apocalyptic Books | The Last Star Blitz + Giveaway!

unnamed.jpg

Hey everyone! Today is May 23, which means that the 5th Wave Trilogy is out in the world in paperback! The 5th Wave is one of the first books I reviewed on my blog, and it’s such a dang good book, so I’m so happy to be a part of Penguin’s release day blitz for this series!

Today I’ll be posting about my favorite post-apocalyptic novels, in celebration of this series’ focal point.

LEGEND // Ah, this series is a classic. Marie Lu is arguably one of the best writers out there, and this series was one of the first books that I read in the Young Adult section.

UNDER THE NEVER SKY // I remember reading this novel several years ago, but I haven’t picked it up recently. It’s incredibly fast-paced and romantic, and I’m sure you’ll love it as much as THE FIFTH WAVE.

ENCLAVE // I read the ENCLAVE series a year or two ago, and I loved it so much. It revolves around a “zombie” apocalypse, and it’s incredibly gritty, fast-paced, and contains some romance!

SHATTER ME // What’s a post-apocalyptic novel list without this beauty? If you’ve been following me for a while, you know that SHATTER ME is my everything. I love it so much, and it’s one of the best books out there, in my opinion.

ANGELFALL // While this book is incredibly humorous, romantic, and fast-paced, it is also quite ableist. It makes it seem like the main character’s family (the mother has depression and possibly another mental illness, and the little sister is disabled. It might be the other way around; I don’t remember) is a burden. Anyway, it is pretty ableist, but I did find the storyline enjoyable.

And, of course, I love THE FIFTH WAVE series. If you’re looking for a fast-paced, humorous post-apocalyptic series with aliens, definitely check this series out.


ABOUT RICK YANCEY

unnamed-4.jpg

Rick Yancey (www.rickyancey.com) is the author of the New York Times bestseller The 5th WaveThe Infinite SeaThe Last Star, several adult novels, and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received a Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. When he isn’t writing or thinking about writing or traveling the country talking about writing, Rick is hanging out with his family.


GIVEAWAY

Enter for a chance to be one (1) grand prize winner and receive a set of The 5th Wave Collection in paperback, including The 5th Wave, The Infinite Sea, and The Last Star (ARV: $32.97), or to be one (1) of five (5) second place winners to receive The 5th Wave in paperback (ARV: $10.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on May 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 30, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about June 2, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

enter here


What are your favorite post-apocalyptic novels? Have you read any of these? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “Favorite Post-Apocalyptic Books | The Last Star Blitz + Giveaway!

  1. I loved the Angelfall and Legend trilogies. I think they’re my favorite dystopian/post-apocalyptic series besides the Hunger Games! And I really liked the first two books of the 5th Wave series. The last one wasn’t my cup of tea, but the series as a whole is pretty great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

