Mini Reviews: Spindle Fire & The End of Our Story

blog graphics (8).png

It’s been quite a while since I posted some mini-reviews, so here are my shorter reviews that I was frankly too lazy to write full-length ones for. Let’s get started!

30163661

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer
Publication: April 11th, 2017 by HarperTeen
Rating: 2/5 stars


SPINDLE FIRE was one of my most anticipated novels of the year. I loved the Sleeping Beauty (with a twist) premise, but unfortunately it felt a bit lackluster. The plot was slow—I initially thought it was interesting and I enjoyed how it was set up based on different perspectives including minor characters’. However, as I kept reading, I kept wanting to fall asleep. Partly because I usually read late at night before bed, and partly because the plot was relatively complex and didn’t make too much sense to me. I do think that if I had spent more time and concentration on this novel’s plot, it would have been more enjoyable to me.

An interesting aspect of this novel is the incorporation of disabled main character princesses. I did like the inclusion of disabilities in this novel—Isabelle is blind, and Aurora is can neither touch nor speak. I just want to point out that while Aurora is under the sleeping spell, her disabilities do not exist anymore. I am not disabled so I don’t have a say in this, but I’d love to hear the opinions of people with disabilities on this certain happening.

Anyway, this novel had a pretty cool premise but I got lost within the plot and the dual backstories between Malfleur and Belacour as well as Isabelle and Aurora. If you enjoy dense backstories and sort of a mystery-like fantasy, definitely check this one out. It just wasn’t really for me.

Thank you to HarperCollins  for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this review.


30653844

The End of Our Story by Meg Haston
Publication: April 4th 2017 by HarperTeen
Rating: 5/5 stars


There’s something about contemporary novels that are set near the end of senior year of high school that really hits me. It’s where I am right now in my life, in fact, and that aspect of contemporary novels that allows this book to be so poignant to me is absolutely amazing.

THE END OF OUR STORY was reminiscent of THE LEAVING SEASON, one of my favorite books of last year and of all time, and I loved the second-chance romance. This was actually my first time reading a second-chance romance, and I adored Wil and Bridge’s connection that was slowly rebuilt throughout the novel.

The plot was incredibly moving. Written in dual perspectives, shifting from junior year to senior year, the plot was enthralling and tackled issues such as domestic violence. That being said, take this as a trigger warning for abuse and violence. I thought Haston dealt with this issue incredibly well and it made me so emotional.

Do yourself a favor and read this book. I loved it and I hope you do too.

Thank you toHarperCollins for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this review.


Have you read any of these books yet? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

12 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Spindle Fire & The End of Our Story

  1. I’ve seen a lot of Spindle Fire in the community lately, and I’m all for a good retelling but after reading your review, I might stay away. I’ve also seen a lot about The End of Our Story, and I’m definitely intrigued by what I have seen, and the cover is gorgeous!

    Like

  2. I’ve heard so many meh things about Spindle Fire, I think I’m just going to skip it. I never heard of The End of Our Story though, it sounds like my kind of book. I agree, there’s something about final school year books that always hit me in the feels 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

