ARC Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

27883214

Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Series:
 Untitled #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication: January 31st 2017 by Flatiron Books
Length: 401 pages
Format: ARC

Before you enter the world of Caraval, you must remember that it’s all a game . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

Then, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation to Caraval finally arrives. So, Tella enlists a mysterious sailor’s help to whisk Scarlett away to this year’s show. But as soon as the trio arrives, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with her sister, with Legend, and with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Read More »

Makeup Looks Inspired by The Crown’s Fate! | The Tsar’s Guard Spotlight

unnamed-1.jpg

Hi everyone! Welcome to my stop on THE CROWN’S FATE spotlight tour! I’m super excited to be a part of this, and I can’t wait to share with you these makeup looks! Let’s get started! First, here’s a bit about the book in question:

unnamed.jpg

The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown’s Game #2
Length: 432 pages
Expected publication: May 16th, 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Buy LinksAmazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kepler’s Books

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Read More »

Review: After the Fall by Kate Hart | Blog Tour + Giveaway

unnamed.jpg

I’m so thrilled to be part of the blog tour for AFTER THE FALL! I absolutely loved this book, and I can’t wait to share my thoughts on it with y’all! Here’s a little bit about the book:

22847526

After the Fall by Kate Hart
Series:
 n/a
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publication: January 24th 2017 by Farrar, Straus & Giroux (BYR)
Length: 336 pages

A YA debut about a teen girl who wrestles with rumors, reputation, and her relationships with two brothers.

Seventeen-year-old Raychel is sleeping with two boys: her overachieving best friend Matt…and his slacker brother, Andrew. Raychel sneaks into Matt’s bed after nightmares, but nothing ever happens. He doesn’t even seem to realize she’s a girl, except when he decides she needs rescuing. But Raychel doesn’t want to be his girl anyway. She just needs his support as she deals with the classmate who assaulted her, the constant threat of her family’s eviction, and the dream of college slipping quickly out of reach. Matt tries to help, but he doesn’t really get it… and he’d never understand why she’s fallen into a secret relationship with his brother. The friendships are a precarious balance, and when tragedy strikes, everything falls apart. Raychel has to decide which pieces she can pick up – and which ones are worth putting back together.

Read More »

ARC Review: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

25081261

Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields
Series:
Poison’s Kiss #1
Genre: YA Fantasy, Mythology, Romance, Paranormal
Publication: January 10th 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Length: 304 pages
Format: ARC (Thank you Random House! <3)

A teenage assassin kills with a single kiss until she is ordered to kill the one boy she loves. This commercial YA fantasy is romantic and addictive like– a poison kiss– and will thrill fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die afterward. It s a miserable life, but being a visha kanya a poison maiden is what she was created to do. Marinda serves the Raja by dispatching his enemies with only her lips as a weapon.

Until now, the men she was ordered to kiss have been strangers, enemies of the kingdom. Then she receives orders to kiss Deven, a boy she knows too well to be convinced he needs to die. She begins to question who she s really working for. And that is a thread that, once pulled, will unravel more than she can afford to lose.

This rich, surprising, and accessible debut is based in Indian folklore and delivers a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Read More »