Guest Post by Tara Sim, Author of Timekeeper | SST

Hi everyone! I’m super pumped for the release of TIMEKEEPER and I’m so happy to have had the opportunity to host Tara Sim, author of this book! There’s also a giveaway at the end, so make sure to let’s get started!

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.07.00 AM

25760792.jpg

Timekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1

Genre: YA Steampunk, Time Travel, Historical, LGBTQ
Publication: November 8th 2016 by Sky Pony Press
Length: 368 pages

Goodreads

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

What I thought was interesting is that your book is set in an alternative Victorian world. What drew you to picking that time period, and if you could choose any era to live in, which would it be (besides Victorian)?

It was actually the story elements that led me to Victorian England. Once I stumbled upon the idea of the magical clock towers, the very first one that popped in my mind was, of course, Big Ben. (By the way, Big Ben is actually the name of the bell inside, not the tower itself!). Since Big Ben is one of the most iconic clock towers in the world—if not the most iconic—it made sense to set the story, or at least the first part, in London.

But there was a hitch: I was used to writing high fantasy, not anything set in our own world. My process for writing high fantasy, however, is linked very closely to historical. In order to create a brand new world, I like to study history and take bits and pieces from here and there. It made sense to set this story in a much earlier time, to give it a little more of a fantastical, faraway feel.

So I had my idea: magical clock towers. I had my setting: England, specifically London. The last question was, what time period?

As I thought more about the towers, I realized that the aesthetic of them—the gears and chains and clock faces and whatnot—were tied pretty closely with steampunk. I researched steampunk and learned that stories in this subgenre were typically set in the Victorian era, particularly England or the wild west in America. It made complete sense to me, and I decided on 1870s England.

Researching the time period was definitely interesting, especially when I had to decide what was staying the same and what was changing in this alternate look at the Victorian era. To be completely truthful, I used to hate the Victorian era; I thought it was weird and contradictory and overall a mess. But researching it more and putting it into context in the Timekeeper world, I started to understand why it’s so fascinating, particularly in regards to the aesthetic and political climate. I tried to highlight some those elements in the book.

If I had to choose any era to live in, I think I’d like to try out the early 1920s. I’ve always been interested in that time period, as I think there’s something strangely desperate about it. It’s a time when people piled on the glamour as if to hide all their hardships behind it, and there was a whole new wealth of art and music and literature to enjoy. Minus the Prohibition part, of course—but that’s what moonshine’s for, right?

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.06.40 AM

Tara Sim can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives. TIMEKEEPER is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter at @EachStarAWorld, or check out her website tarasim.com for fun extras.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

Signed copy of Timekeeper (US Only)

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM

fullsizerender-5-300x293.jpg

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

Have you read this book yet? What did you think? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Advertisements

One thought on “Guest Post by Tara Sim, Author of Timekeeper | SST

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s