Interview with Dominique @piratesandpdust | #WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Today, we’re here with Dominique from Pirates And Pixie Dust! Let’s start with the interview!

1. Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?Hello, everyone! I’m Dominique and I’m a US blogger. I’ve been blogging sinceAugust 12 this year.
 
2. What made you want to start book blogging in the first place? I’ve been obsessed with books my entire life. When I was in elementary and middle school, I could read nine books at once, I was friends with the local librarian, and I begged my parents to buy every single book in the Scholastic brochures they sent home from school (I rarely won the argument). Unfortunately, unless there were Book-It pizzas on the line, no one else wanted read with me. No one else wanted to talk books, either. Not until I got to college and a room mate let me borrow her Harry Potter books. Being able to gush over stories with others became the necessity I didn’t realize was missing from my life. Once college was over and the roomies became long-distance friends, I decided that a bookstagram, and later a book blog, was just the thing I needed.
 
3. Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who? I actually don’t have very many specific bloggers that I look up to yet. I basically look up to everyone, since every post, graphic, or idea I see is miles ahead of what I have in mind. There is, however, one particular blogger than I am simply in awe of. Aentee (of readatmidnight.com) is absolutely brilliant, has the greatest ideas, and her graphics compare to none. I’ve got complete blog envy -is that a thing?- of her.
 
4. What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself? I would love to create my own bookish meme soon. I have one in mind, so I’m currently searching the interwebs to see if it’s been done already. I would also love to write and queue posts, in order to post on a regular basis. I truly enjoy blogging so far, and I hope to be here awhile!
 
5. What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community? Right now I mostly have readathon updates and TRBs, bookish memes, and book reviews. I’d like to see and incorporate more book tags. I’m still trying to figure out how those work.
 
6. What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)? I didn’t even know what an ARC was until I joined bookish Twitter. I’m not sure I’ll be seeking them out, though. I have too much too read as it is. My TBR isn’t a pile, it’s a mountain.
 
7. What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone? Always and forever will I recommend The Circle Saga by Ted Dekker: Black, Red, White, and Green. It doesn’t matter what genre is your favorite, it’s represented in these books some where. A more recently read ‘forever recommend’ for me is the Shades of Magic series by VE Schwab: A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadows, and A Conjuring of Light. The last book isn’t out until February, but by the middle of book one, I was in love with every single on of these characters.
 
8. What advice do you have for new book bloggers? I’d advise someone to “stop thinking about it and just do it.” I don’t have graphic design skills, so this is something I want to develop. However, I had already procrastinated long enough on starting my blog, so I simply jumped in. Now I have the motivation to learn about graphics and get better as I grow. If I had waited to master graphics before starting, I probably never would. If blogging is something you want to do, than simply do it. You will learn and grow with time. Perfection isn’t automatic.
 

MEET THE BLOGGER

Dominique is a 27 year-old attempting to master “adulting” in Tennessee. She tried to accomplish this by getting a tattoo, but just ended up leaving with Disney inspired ink. Now she just reads Peppa Pig books to her toddler and preschooler all day.

Links:  Blog  // Twitter // Instagram 

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM

Dominique is also giving away a prize here! Check it out:

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do we have anything in common?

Leave a Reply

