Interview with Kate @itsjustkate4 | #WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Today, we’re here with Kate from GirlReading! Let’s start with the interview!

1.    Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?
 
Hi, I’m Kate. I’m from the UK and I started book blogging in May but have only recently started to try and post more regularly! Although I have had a BookTube channel for just over a year!
 
2.    What made you want to start book blogging in the first place? 
 
I’ve always loved reading, talking about books and simply getting excited about them but I’ve never really had anywhere or anyone in my every day life that felt the same way! Then, a year ago, when I started my BookTube channel  I totally fell in love with the fact that there are places on the internet where people love to talk about books just as much as I do. I’ve also always really loved writing but hadn’t ever really done anything about it but had always wanted to. I liked the idea of having a place where I could write about anything and everything! There isn’t a day that goes past in which I don’t talk about books, either on YouTube, Twitter, or simply me rambling on about them to anyone who will listen, so adding a Blog to the list of places I could talk all things bookish sounded like a good idea…
 
 
3.    Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who?
 
There are so many fabulous people and gorgeous blogs out there, it’s hard to choose just a few but here are a couple I have been loving lately:
 
Ngoc from happycomesfirst (we actually met through BookTube but ended up starting a blog at almost exactly the same time without realising!) She’s so lovely and her photos are utterly gorgeous – https://happycomesfirstblog.wordpress.com
Jessica from Princessica of Books – https://princessicaofbooks.wordpress.com
Alice from Most Ardently Alice – http://mostardentlyalice.blogspot.co.uk
Dana from Dana and the Books – http://danaandthebooks.com
Paige from The Paige-Turner – http://thepaige-turner.com
 
 
4.    What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself?
 
I think my main two goals are firstly, to simply continue to enjoy blogging and secondly to post more frequently and regularly. I really love blogging and the more I do it, the more I enjoy it. I just need to find the time to actually do it. I feel like a lot of the time I would or should spend blogging, I spend either reading, filming or editing. (Netflix doesn’t help that cause too much either…) I would of course love people to read my blogs and enjoy them, there’s nothing better than someone enjoying something you’ve written or loving a book you’ve recommended or talked about. So, I guess that would be an ‘ultimate’ goal. But for now, I’m happy just focusing on enjoying what I’m doing, hopefully doing more of it and maybe the latter goal will happen at some point. Ooh, I would also love to get to know more bloggers, everyone in the community always seems so lovely but me and my introverted ways aren’t always too fab at knowing how to go about doing that, aha!
        
5.    What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community?
 
At the moment I’ve mainly been focusing on book reviews but I’ve also posted a few monthly new releases posts, in which I talk about some of the upcoming book releases I’m excited about and also a couple of bookish quizzes/polls! In all honesty, I’m not sure what I would like to see more of in the community. I feel as though the book community are really great at talking about and posting a variety of different content and discussions. You can always find something that will interest you and make you think! I do think it would be nice to see more personal posts as well as bookish posts. I love getting to know bloggers through their posts but I also know how daunting it can be to talk more about yourself online! (I totally suck at it, although I’m trying to get better aha!) I also love your idea of bloggers interviewing and collaborating with each other, it’s a lot of fun and such a nice way to get to know and discover more book bloggers!
 
6.    What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)?
 
I’ve not really had too much experience with ARCs, although for a while I was totally addicted to NetGalley. I think it’s fantastic, I was approved for nearly every book I requested which was great, until I realised that I was suddenly somewhat overwhelmed with new and exciting books to read and review… I very quickly learned not to requested every single book that I wanted to read and all was good again! Having said that, I don’t tend to use NetGalley as much anymore as I’m personally not the biggest of reading eBooks and I found that I kept forgetting to talk about them in videos as I didn’t have a physical copy, which, as I write this, sounds like such a dumb excuse! I did recently pick up a few of my first physical ARCs at YALC this July which was a such a fun experience, as I loved talking to the publishers there! I also just recently received my first ARC from a publisher which was definitely very exciting, kind of surreal and at the same time slightly intimidating? (But mostly extremely exciting!) I can definitely understand why ARCs can be a huge deal for some bloggers (I’ve only been sent one but even then I was so excited) but I’m also very wary of the ludicrous amount of books I currently have on my TBR and books that I’ve wanted to read for ages. So as much as I would love to receive ARCs, I don’t want to get too hung up about them, as I would also love to eventually get around to reading ‘that book on my shelf that’s already been sat there, unread, for a couple of years’…
 
7.    What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone?
 
*Has a total breakdown over possibly the hardest question ever*
 
I love books that really, genuinely make me feel something. Whether that’s happiness, pure excitement, thrill etc. I love relating to a character, or falling in love with one and that feeling you get when you know you have to go to sleep but you simply have to carry on reading. Those are my favourite kinds of books. A few I would recommend that made me feel that way, I have to say Harry Potter, I’d be lying if I didn’t!! But one of my all time favourite books is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I think everyone has a few books that mean a huge amount to them and Fangirl is definitely one of those to me. I also recently read Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall which was utterly fantastic. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson is another favourite, I’m a sucker for anything slightly Disney related and this is such a beautiful book. I’ve always really enjoyed the emotional rollercoaster Sarah J. Maas’ books send me on. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas is definitely a favourite, I could talk about that book for years (I’m also pretty sure I now have…) I loved The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, it’s cast of characters is one of my favourites and made me feel so much, I always feel happy whenever I mention it in a video etc. Girl Missing by Sophie McKenzie is one of my all time favourite books, it’s the one that really cemented my love for reading and made me feel ALL the emotions so I’m very sentimental towards that. These are the first few that came to mind, so I guess they’re in the running for my favourites!
 
8.    What advice do you have for new book bloggers?
 
This is a tough one. I want to say “Just Do It” but I know how difficult that can be and how it’s often a lot easier said than done. I was so nervous about starting my BookTube channel and after a year of doing that, I was still only a little less nervous to start my blog. I think the biggest advice would to make sure you’re doing it for the right reasons, especially if you are slightly nervous to start. If you love books and want to share that with the world then go for it. Also take your time, you don’t need to rush into anything. Come up with a few blog post ideas and maybe write a couple of them out before posting any, I wish I had done this! It just gives you a good head start and it’ll mean you’re on top of things! Even if starting a blog does seem daunting, if you’re doing it for yourself and because it’s something you’re excited to do and will make you happy, it will 100% be worth it.
 

MEET THE BLOGGER

unnamed

I’m Kate. A 20-year-old bibliophile and self confessed Disney addict, with a *slight* book buying addiction.
My days tend to consist of reading, talking about books, forcing my dogs to cuddle me, investing far too much time in the lives of fictional characters, falling into a deep addiction to far too many T.V series, reading a little bit more and evidently not getting enough sleep. I blog athttp://girlreading.co.uk and also post videos on my BookTube channel https://www.youtube.com/c/GirlReading
 
Social Media Links: Youtube Channel // Blog (GirlReading) // Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads // Tumblr

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do we have anything in common?

Leave a Reply

