Interview with Brittany @brittany_reads | #WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Today, we’re here with Brittany from Ginger Night Owl! Let’s start with the interview!

1. Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?

Hi! I’m Brittany and I was born & raised in Maryland. Where apparently we’re only good for rockin’ it in the Olympics with all those gold medals!

I’ve only been blogging since May 2016 – so I’m a pretty new newbie, 🙂
 
2. What made you want to start book blogging in the first place?

I am a web developer and have always wanted my own site. However, I never really wanted anything elaborate and really only wanted a blog. I used to have a LiveJournal that I updated regularly, but it was more personal than anything & I wanted to get away from that.

I just wanted something that I could write down a few thoughts and ideas when they came to me; no matter what the topic was. I had also joined Twitter in May 2016 and started getting into the book community and I really wanted to start book blogging. I was already writing reviews on Goodreads but it just didn’t feel enough for me.

That’s how Ginger Night Owl was born. When I created it, I didn’t really intend for it to be a 95% book blog – I was thinking of having a mash-up of things, and in some ways it is (and will be) but for now it’s primarily a book blog. I’ve been a little busy over the summer, so I haven’t really had time to write up some things that I’ve been wanting to write.
 
3. Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who?

There are several that I look up to for variety of different of reasons (amazing content, wonderful personalities/people, etc.) but I’d be here forever! But special shoutout for Christina at Ensconced in Lit and Austine at Novel Knight in particular for being the first two to really help me with tips & tricks, advice, etc. when I started blogging and was trying to get a feel for the book blogging aspects.
 
4. What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself?
To be completely honest with you, I don’t really set goals for myself. I’ve accomplished a lot in life by doing this, haha. My blog goals are just to have fun with it, enjoy it and if I ever come to the point where I don’t enjoy it anymore – then I’m done.
 
5. What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community?

Right now, I primarily have reviews and I do some weekly memes (Teaser Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, etc.) I have a few non-bookish related posts. With the school year starting, I am going to have more time to incorporate more posts.

The types of posts I want to see throughout the book community… I think it really depends on the blogger. I think there are some posts that some bloggers do better than others, and that’s okay. We can’t all be good at everything. I really love reading posts about things going on in the community where we can discuss opinions without attacking each other (which seems to be a difficult concept among some these days…)
 
6. What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)?
Since I started blogging in May… I’ve been approached by a couple of authors for reviewing their books. I also have a NetGalley account. I’ve received a few ARCs via trade or Twitter giveaways, but I’ve never been to BEA or anything like that. ARCs are really nice, but I don’t think they’re everything. A lot of people think having ARCs define them as a book blogger and I… don’t.
 
7. What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone?

It goes without saying – Harry Potter! I absolutely love the series and it’s what really got me into reading.

Some of my favorites that were released in 2016 (s0 far), however – The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker and Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana. I also really enjoyed the Ignite the Shadows series by Ingrid Seymour (book #1 released in 2015, book #2 in 2016).
 
8. What advice do you have for new book bloggers?

Just do you. Don’t try to do what everyone else is doing… it’ll take some time trying to find your niche with your own blog, but it’ll come around. It’s only been a few months for me and I’m still trying to figure it out. Don’t worry about numbers – blog visits and page views aren’t everything. Blogging is about having fun, not appealing the masses. If you’re not having fun, then it’s not worth it.

MEET THE BLOGGER

Hi! I’m Brittany and I blog at Ginger Night Owl. I was born and raised on the eastern shore, but one day I would love to be a west coast girl. I’m a web developer, proud Ravenclaw, and I enjoy coffee way more than I care to admit. I have a six year old little boy who isn’t so little anymore, and is my perfect little mini-me.

Links:  Twitter // Blog

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do we have anything in common?

 

Leave a Reply

