Interview with Sofea @sofeaghani | #WTTN16

welcome to the neighborhood

Hi everyone! Today, we’re here with another new-ish book blogger! If you don’t know, WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD is a feature on my blog in which I introduce new bloggers through interviews and guest posts as well as a few giveaways! You can find more information here.

Today, we’re here with Sofea from Hey Its Bookish Me! Let’s start with the interview!

unnamed

1. Introduce yourself! Where are you from? How long have you been blogging?
Hi there! My name is Sofea Ghani. I’m 22 and I am a Malaysian! I live in Petaling Jaya, Selangor which is really close to our capital city, Kuala Lumpur. I’ve been blogging since May this year, so it’s been around 4 months so far and I’m loving it!
2. What made you want to start book blogging in the first place? 
I was excited to connect with more book bloggers in Malaysia and around the world. Additionally, I needed a platform to help me improve my writing and encourage me to be more adventurous in trying out new genres and authors. Blogging turned out to be just the thing!
3. Do you have any bloggers that you look up to? If so, who?
I believe the best people to look up to are those who are closest to me, MyBibliomaniacs family. I feel inspired by the work done by amazing local Malaysian bloggers such as Malie (maliemania.blogspot.com), Kevin (bookevin.wordpress.com), and Atikah (oh-hellobooks.tumblr.com). They inspire me to put more love into my writing and keep pushing forward!
4. What goals do you have for your blog and/or yourself?
My short-term goal is to establish myself as a blogger both locally and internationally. I hope to gain more confidence from publishers and authors to improve my overall review portfolio, and at the same time, inspire others to pursue their passion in book blogging. In the long run, I hope to be the go-to book blogger for my honest reviews, exceptional work and sincere commitment.
5. What sorts of posts do you currently incorporate in your blog? What kinds of posts do you want to see more throughout the whole book community?
My posts are heavily focused on reviews with the exception of a few posts on Book Hauls, Blog Tours and Author Interviews. I believe that we should all focus more on book reviews and book talks as it is so important to encourage further discussions and exchange of ideas to develop our community.
6. What has been your experience with ARCs (advance reading copies)?
I have been receiving physical ARCs from international publishers such as HarperCollins, Faber & Faber and Walker Books. It’s been an incredible journey working with them in providing good books the exposure they deserve. I have also been approached by authors both local and abroad. For a blogger like me with such little experience, I feel very blessed for the trust and confidence they have in me. This is a wonderful opportunity for me to grow as a book blogger.
7. What are your favorite books? What books do you recommend for everyone?
I love books that bring my emotions on a journey. Books that consume me with their elegant writing and incredible storyline. I have a soft spot for contemporary and romance, but on days where I’m feeling more adventurous, I go for fantasy and thriller. I read and review across all genres. My current favourite books are A Court of Thorns and Roses and Me Before You.
8. What advice do you have for new book bloggers?
Be consistent, discipline but have loads of fun! Reviewing books should not be about racing to get more ARCs or gaining popularity. It’s good to have goals but don’t forget that ultimately, what you have in your heart is your love for books. Do your best to share that love and warmth with the world. Once you have that mindset and heart, you will strive and enjoy yourself as a book blogger.

MEET THE BLOGGER

heyitsbookishme is a book blog run by Sofea, a 22-year-old Malaysian book blogger. Her love for books and writing led her to start blogging in May this year. She is now actively receiving and reviewing books directly from authors and publishers all around the world.

Links: WordPress // Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.52 AM

As part of the tour, I’m giving away one YA preorder of your choice (under $17), international as long as TBD ships. Full rules here.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.37.56 AM


Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

What was your favorite part of this interview? Do we have anything in common?

7 thoughts on “Interview with Sofea @sofeaghani | #WTTN16

  1. Hi Sofea, it was great reading your interview and learning all about you!! I can’t believe you’ve only been blogging for 4 months as Hey it’s Bookish Me is a truly fantastic blog and one that would pass for a far more advance blogger so congrats on how far you’ve come in such a short time! I’m also a huge contemporary and romance fan but love the fantasies and thrillers on the side!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Alecia! Thank you so much for your kind words! It really means a lot to me. I did invest a great amount of time in the last few months. Added points cause I was on my holiday break so I could work on it to the max. We have so much in common already. Looking forward to talk books with you 😀

      Like

  2. I am so glad to have stumbled on your blog. The interviews with new-ish bloggers really inspire me, and I love reading why each person started their blogs and the most important parts of blogging for them. Great read!! Hey Sofea, so nice to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

