Mini-Reviews: All We Have Is Now & Fans of the Impossible Life

blog graphics (8).png

Today I’m reviewing a few more backlist books I didn’t have a chance to read earlier, including ALL WE HAVE IS NOW and FANS OF THE IMPOSSIBLE LIFE, both contemporaries. For both of these books, they didn’t match my expectations.

22840148.jpg

All We Have Is Now by Lisa Schroeder
Series: n/a
Publication: July 28th 2015 by Scholastic Inc.


This book has a gorgeous cover, so I went in with high hopes. I understand that this book was meant to be deep and meaningful but truthfully, I just found it boring. There was a lot of dialogue, but it was merely empty words, nothing of much significance. However, I did enjoy the romance between the two main characters, but I wish there was less on the characters’ backgrounds because I feel like it didn’t have a lot of impact considering the length of the novel, and more on the decisions that the characters made with the time they had left.

Do I recommend? If anything, buy the ebook.

24039396

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa
Series: n/a
Publication: September 8th 2015 by Balzer + Bray


This book had a great premise; it had LGBTQ+ characters and a nice friendship trio, but it ultimately fell flat. The dynamics of the characters were amazing; the backgrounds of the three main characters were interesting and I wanted to see how this one unfolded, but it was just so boring—so boring that I had been wondering if I had been reading the wrong book the whole time. By the half-way mark, I realized that I wasn’t invested in the story at all, but I kept reading in hopes that it would improve, but it just didn’t.

Do I recommend? No. However, this may just be another case of it’s not you, it’s me, so maybe try it out? Perhaps don’t set your expectations too high.

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? I’d love to know!

9 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: All We Have Is Now & Fans of the Impossible Life

  1. I have been wanting to read Fans of the Impossible Life ever since it came out, but I juggled through different reviews. A year later, I’m still hesitant about reading it. Luckily, I can try because my library has a copy. Like you said, I’ll try to lower my expectations about it. 🙂

    Great reviews, btw! 🙂

    Like

  2. Bummer! I also love the cover of All We Have is now. I haven’t read any reviews yet, but based on yours, I have better books to read already on my pile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

