Authors Whose Books I’ve Never Read

blog graphics (16).png

This is a shameful post. Just saying.

Today I’m listing out the authors whose books I’ve never read. This post is not to offend or publicly denounce authors but to bring together bookish people so we can all laugh at/with me (whatever floats your boat). With that being said, please don’t feel offended if I don’t read your favorite author’s books. (However, you’re welcome to persuade me to do so. Sell it to me.)

1. Marissa Meyer

I own the majority of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES, actually. But I don’t have a copy of CRESS and I refuse to read backlist series if I don’t have all the books on hand. It’s a blessing and a curse.

2. Alexandra Bracken

Okay, I’m actually pretty interested in THE DARKEST MINDS trilogy partly because there’s a movie coming out and partly because I’ve heard lovely things about her books. Maybe soon.

3. Morgan Rhodes

Normally, I would fight people to read a fantasy series, but I’ve heard that the first book in her FALLING KINGDOMS series is not too exciting so I’m hesitant.

4. Patrick Ness

It’s funny actually, because my library has an online catalog and the whole CHAOS WALKING trilogy is available to borrow.

5. Rainbow Rowell

I tried to read ELEANOR AND PARK once in ninth grade but I didn’t get past the first chapter. Does the hype scare me or am I just lazy? Who knows.

6. Richelle Mead

Vampires aren’t usually my thing, but long series are. I think I’m more interested in her standalone fantasy books though. We’ll see if I ever read her books.

7. Stephanie Perkins

One of the queens of contemporary! I’ll read her ANNA/LOLA/ISLA books soon, I promise.

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

So there you have it! (Were you groaning the whole time? I knew it.) Some very popular authors whose books I have never read, but hopefully I will soon! Any authors you think I should start with?

48 thoughts on “Authors Whose Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I absolutely love Richelle Mead! Her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series are my favourite second to Harry Potter! It’s defiantly worth checking them out. It’s also not the typical vampire mythology. It’s different and I think that why I loved it so much.

    Like

  2. Interesting post!! 😁 though I kinda wanted to scream at you because Marissa Meyer is your #1 and I’m gonna do it right now : START READING CINDER!! Cinder is ahmaaaayzing I luuurve 😘 I love how Meyer spin the story of Cinderella into something sooo original & awesome! I hope you get your copy of Cress soon and enjoy it as much as I did 😘 BUT I’M WITH YOU ON #2 I haven’t read ANYTHING from Alexandra Bracken 😦 I heard Passenger is a bit overhyped but that The Darkest Mind is absolutely amazing!! I’m curious but there are so many more books on my priority list so Bracken would have to wait 😂 I haven’t read anything by Richelle Mead either haha great post! 👍

    Like

  3. I was interested in The Darkest Minds, but I didn’t enjoyed it. I did loved Passenger by her. The first book in the Falling Kingdoms series is really good, I read it a few days ago. I think the best book by Rainbow Rowell is Fangirl. I read Soundless by Richelle Mead… it was good but I decided not to read any book by her. AND… Anna and the French Kiss is my favorite contemporary book of all times. Hope you read those books soon. Great post!

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any Morgan Rodes, Patrick Ness (though I REALLY want to) or Alexandra Bracken either 😂 Oh lord ! On my list there’s also Sarah J Maas, Leigh Bardugo and some other really popular authors that I don’t have in mind now hahaha.
    I would say give The Lunar Chronicles a go, it can be cheesy at times but it’s really fun and a unique way to retell and revamp fairytales we know by heart 😊

    Like

  5. I loved The Lunar Chronicles. They are so much fun. Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite authors so I of course think you should read her books 🙂 I wasn’t a huge fan of The Chaos Walking series but want to try more from Patrick Ness. I hope you enjoy whichever ones of these you pick up!

    Like

  6. The first Falling Kingdoms book is kind of meh. If you’re an avid fantasy reader, it might not have that much of an impact on you. But I’d give them a try if you’re really interested.
    The Anna-Lola-Isla trilogy is just cuteness overload. I enjoyed the first two books more but it’s just contemporary fluffiness in general

    Like

  7. I haven’t read any of these authors’ books either. I tried a James Patterson book once, but gave up. Sometimes what is popular just isn’t for everyone.

    Like

  8. The Darkest Minds trilogy is my favorite trilogy ever! It’s not for everyone, but I think you should read that soon. And I love the Lunar Chronicles, too! I’m glad to see that I’m not the last person to read a Morgan Rhodes book yet – I feel so behind.

    Like

  9. I haven’t read the Chaos Walking trilogy, but Ness’s other books are truly wonderful stories. I would definitely recommend! I haven’t read anything by Marissa Meyer, Morgan Rhodes and Stephanie Perkins either, You are not alone!

    Like

  10. Like you I need to get started on many of these books but I have read Alexander Bracken’s The Darkest Minds trilogy and I just have to say READ IT!! I absolutely loved this series and I can’ recommend it enough!

    Like

  11. I only recently read a book my Rainbow Rowell, and the same with Marissa Meyer so you’re not alone! But if there’s any author there that I would urge you to read, it’s Patrick Ness. He is a genius and if you read Chaos Walking you will get to know the glory that is the dog Manchee.

    Like

  12. I haven’t read most of these authors ;O only Anna and the French Kiss (which unfortunately I did not enjoy at all) and Fangirl by Rainbow (which I LOVED 😍 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

