Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

23846013
The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Series: The Young Elites #2
Genre: YA Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance, Magic
Publication: October 13th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Length: 395 pages
Format: ebook

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?

Bestselling author Marie Lu delivers another heart-pounding adventure in this exhilarating sequel to The Young Elites.

warning: will contain some spoilers

I’m writing this review 5 minutes after I completed THE ROSE SOCIETY and my mind is still reeling. This book was golden. This book is honestly one of the best books I’ve read this year (maybe ever?? It’s certainly looking that way).

THE ROSE SOCIETY, sequel to THE YOUNG ELITES, is deliciously dark and such a thrilling ride—I read half this book in one sitting. Adelina comes back darker and meaner and strives to exact revenge on those who have wronged her all her life. After the death of Enzo and her exile from the Daggers as well as the introduction of new characters, including that of Maeve (the queen who can bring back the dead), it’s clear that Adelina embarks on a more dangerous and more fascinating journey in this novel. I literally could not stop reading; the concept and the writing and all of Adelina’s thoughts are just so addicting.

In terms of characters, we get introduced to a few new characters, which stirs the pot and makes things interesting. First off, Magiano: a thief and fellow malfetto, who also is a possible love interest for Adelina. He, according to Violetta, brings Adelina some light in her life, while Adelina is battling (and succumbs to) the demons in her mind. The dynamic between the Magiano and Adelina is something I’m really looking forward to reading about in the next installment. Additionally, Enzo’s resurrection really brings some tension to the table as… I mean, resurrection. There’s some magic system involved, especially with the tying of his resurrection to another life, and it was just very intriguing.

One of the most fascinating things about this book is the development of Adelina’s character. In THE YOUNG ELITES, she’s pretty evil and badass but she still has wisps of doubt as to whether she wants to stay evil or if she just wants to exact vengeance and be done with it. In this novel, Adelina’s demeanor has changed drastically, and my, oh my. I adore Adelina and her evilness but she definitely scared me at some points. I just loved reading about her downwards spiral (or many upwards spiral into ascendancy?) into evil.

Most of this book is super dark and thrilling, but we still get golden lines like:

“You have all the charisma of a burnt potato pudding.”

“I like burnt potato pudding. It’s smoky.”

Overall, THE ROSE SOCIETY deserves all the stars. It’s dark and delicious and blows THE YOUNG ELITES out of the water. This book was so gorgeous, and I honestly cannot wait for THE MIDNIGHT STAR to come out soon!

trigger warning: some mentions of abuse

Have you read this book yet? Did you enjoy it as much as I did? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

18 thoughts on “Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

  1. I’ve had this book on my to-read list for too long. Thanks for the review today and I love the burnt potato pudding quote.

    Like

  2. I NEED to read this series. I had to force myself to wait, because i am trying so hard to not read series until they are complete. It is not an easy thing to do, though. I tell ya!

    Like

  3. Great review and I’m so glad you enjoyed the sequel! I still haven’t read The Young Elites even though it has been on my TBR list for a while but the mixed reviews and the not so positive comparisons to The Hunger Games kind of put me off it. I was still really intrigued by the synopsis though and it’s why it has stayed on my to read shelf. I love the sound of the novel from your POV so I reall think I should just give the series a try!

    Like

  4. I read The Rose Society last year and it was way better than The Young Elites! Adelina’s character development is sooo good and unlike any other books that I’ve read. I’m definitely excited for the third book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

