ARC Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Publication: June 7th 2016 by Macmillan/Swoon Reads
Series: n/a
Length: 336 pages
Format: eARC from publisher

Taylor Simmons is screwed.

Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.

Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

I haven’t read a book with a fake relationship trope in a while, so I was incredibly excited to read this one. I was a little unsure about this book because I feel like the end of the synopsis promotes a bit of slut-shaming (but that’s just me) but I overall enjoyed this book despite a few problems I had with it.

The concept of the fake relationship was definitely fun to read about! The novel dives right into Taylor and Evan’s situation, and along the way, there were a few potential love triangles, but none of them really made any difference because of how much Taylor and Evan started to like each other. However, I didn’t really feel like they were getting close to each other; I feel like we were being more so told that Evan and Taylor were starting to like each other through their inner ramblings in the dual perspectives. But I can’t deny that I really enjoyed reading about their romance; I thought their actions towards each other were adorable and lovely to read about.

I really could relate to many of the characters, especially Taylor. I totally understood her ambition and need to succeed—props to her getting into Columbia! The one thing I didn’t really understand was her stubbornness to keep her reputation in check; I feel like she really didn’t need to go such lengths to make sure her reputation as the Ice Queen was still alive and healthy. Moreover, I really enjoyed Evan’s character; his funny and sassy personality really contrasted with Taylor’s more serious manner (which was fine, but it got a bit boring to read about how much Taylor was stressed out and how much she needed to keep her reputation up).

Overall, I enjoyed reading this book even if there were a few little things I was unsure about. If you enjoy the fake relationships trope and a cute romance, then be sure to pick this one up!

Have you read this book yet? Are you planning to?

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

  1. Ohh I love fake relationships in stories so this is going on my TBR! It’s got a fake relationship AND opposites attract kind of thing? So I think I’ll enjoy it (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

