Monthly Recap: June 2016

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 8.14.52 PM

Happy June! I’m so happy it’s summer! Despite how much summer homework I have over these ten weeks, I’m thrilled to have more reading time. And more time to do things overall (without school taking over every part of my life). Without further ado, let’s get started with what I did this month!

Read More »

TTT: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 8.39.41 PM

My, oh my, has it been a long time since I’ve participated in a Top Ten Tuesday! Nonetheless, I’m excited to get back into it!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find it more information here. This week’s topic is a freebie, so I decided to do Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year, which was the topic last week (which I also missed). Without further ado, let’s get started!

Read More »

Requesting Physical ARCs | A How-To

blog graphics (4).png

Hi everyone!

I’ve been blogging for almost a year (my blogoversary celebration + giveaways is coming up soon! 😉 ). During this period of time, I’ve gotten a few ARCs and picked up several tips on how to acquire them. I wouldn’t call myself an expert in physical ARCs or anything, but as a newbie blogger, I have gotten approved for a few, so I wanted to share with you a little how-to. 

Read More »

A Winter’s B(Haul)

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 1.49.22 PM

Yes, I’m back with another book haul! This time it’s 13 books. No, Hamiltome was not part of it, unfortunately (but I would not be opposed to someone getting it for me wink wink). Let’s get started with what I got over the course of these few weeks.

e3f0b85e-afb9-4db7-91c0-6f930508a016.jpg

I won the #YAParty NOVL Box from the NOVL and the hosts of the #YAParty (including Hannah @ Irish Banana Review, Andye @ Reading Teen, and author Liza Weimer. It included: SEVEN DAYS OF YOU (ARC), THE MEMORY BOOK (ARC), FROSTBLOOD (ARC), A TRAGIC KIND OF WONDERFUL (ARC), LOVE AND FIRST SIGHT (ARC), AND THE TREES CREPT IN (ARC), THE LOOSE ENDS LIST, STRANGE THE DREAMER (sampler), and lots of fun swag. Huge thanks for sending me all these books!

Read More »

Review: Fire Falling by Elise Kova | Crystal Tour + Giveaway!

CT-Banner.jpg

Welcome to my stop on the CRYSTAL TOUR! This tour marks the end of the AIR AWAKENS series, and although I have only read up to book 2, I’m super bittersweet about this. Today, I have a review of FIRE FALLING and quite a few giveaways. Let’s get started with celebrating!

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.07.00 AM
26242401
Fire Falling by Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens #2
Genre: YA Fantasy, Magic
Publication: November 19th 2015 by Silver Wing Press
Length: 380 pages
Format: ebook from author

Soldier… Sorcerer… Savior… Who is Vhalla Yarl?

Vhalla Yarl marches to war as property of the Solaris Empire. The Emperor counts on her to bring victory, the Senate counts on her death, and the only thing Vhalla can count on is the fight of her life. As she grapples with the ghosts of her past, new challenges in the present threaten to shatter the remnants of her fragile sanity. Will she maintain her humanity? Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

Read More »

ARC Review: The Marked Girl by Lindsey Klingele

22429623

The Marked Girl by Lindsey Klingele
Genre: YA Fantasy, Adventure, Urban Fantasy, Time Travel
Published June 21st 2016 by HarperTeen
Format: eARC
Length: 400 pages

Once upon a time, in a land far, far away (Los Angeles)…

When Cedric, crowned prince of Caelum, and his fellow royal friends (including his betrothed, Kat) find themselves stranded in modern-day L.A. via a magical portal and an evil traitor named Malquin, all they want to do is get home to Caelum—soon. Then they meet Liv, a filmmaker foster girl who just wants to get out of the system and on with her life. As she and Cedric bond, they’ll discover that she’s more connected to his world than they ever could’ve imagined…and that finding home is no easy task…

Read More »

Make Me Read It Readathon | Vote for What I Should Read!

-are getting married! (4).png

This year, Ely @ Tea & Titles and Val @ The Innocent Smiley are hosting the MAKE ME READ IT READATHON where friends and audience can vote for what I’ll be reading. This year, the readathon will be from July 9th to the 16th!

So what is this readathon about? Here’s what Ely and Val have said about it:

Look at the books you own, either physical, e-book or ones you’ve borrowed from the library and pick out a few you really want to read, or feel like you should read. It’s up to you how many you pick, personally I’d pick a few more than you expect to be able to read in a week. Example: if you think you’ll only read two, pick out five books or if you think you can read seven, pick out ten.

Make a list of these books on your blog, or make a video, or a Goodreads shelf or post a picture on Instagram—whatever is easiest for you. Then get friends, other bloggers/booktubers etc. to vote on which books you HAVE to read.

When the readathon comes along, you read the books in the order of most votes. For example, if one book gets 10 votes—you read that first, then the one that got 7 and so on. If there’s a tie, then it’s your preference. The goal is to read as many as possible.

Look at the books you own, either physical, e-book or ones you’ve borrowed from the library and pick out a few you really want to read, or feel like you should read. It’s up to you how many you pick, personally I’d pick a few more than you expect to be able to read in a week. Example: if you think you’ll only read two, pick out five books or if you think you can read seven, pick out ten.
Make a list of these books on your blog, or make a video, or a Goodreads shelf or post a picture on Instagram—whatever is easiest for you. Then get friends, other bloggers/booktubers etc. to vote on which books you HAVE to read.
When the readathon comes along, you read the books in the order of most votes. For example, if one book gets 10 votes—you read that first, then the one that got 7 and so on. If there’s a tie, then it’s your preference. The goal is to read as many as possible.

Without further ado, help me choose what book to read!

Are you planning to join this readathon? What books have you read in this poll?

Blog Tour: Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee | Q&A + Giveaway

Hi everyone! I’m super excited to be part of the blog tour for LUCKY FEW, and I’m even more excited to present my interview with the author, Kathryn Ormsbee! And hugs to Hannah @ Irish Banana for organizing the tour! Let’s get started!
Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 11.07.00 AM
27206511.jpg
Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic, Romance
Publication: June 7th 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Series: n/a
Length: 384 pages
Format: eARC from publisher

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.

Read More »