ARC Review: Take the Fall by Emily Hainsworth

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 12.56.33 PM

15782557

Take the Fall
by Emily Hainsworth
Genre: YA Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary
Publication: February 16th 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Series: n/a
Length: 368 pages
Format: eARC from publisher

 

WHO KILLED GRETCHEN MEYER?

Fear grips the residents of Hidden Falls the night Sonia Feldman and her best friend, Gretchen Meyer, are attacked in the woods. Sonia was lucky to escape with her life, but Gretchen’s body is discovered at the bottom of a waterfall. Beautiful, popular, and seemingly untouchable, Gretchen can’t be gone. Even as Sonia struggles with guilt and confusion over having survived, the whole town is looking to her for information…could she have seen something that will lead the police to the killer?

At the top of the list of suspects is Gretchen’s ex-boyfriend—and Sonia’s longtime enemy—Marcus Perez. So when Marcus comes to Sonia for help clearing his name, she agrees, hoping to find evidence the police need to prove he’s the killer. But as Gretchen’s many secrets emerge and the suspects add up, Sonia feels less sure of Marcus’s involvement, and more afraid for herself. Could Marcus, the artist, the screwup, the boy she might be falling for have attacked her? Killed her best friend? And if it wasn’t him in the woods that night…who could it have been?

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 5.16.09 PM

Thank you to HarperCollins / Balzer + Bray for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.

I don’t usually read many murder/thriller books, but when I noticed TAKE THE FALL, I was immediately interested. TAKE THE FALL tells the story of Sonia, who barely escapes with her life after she’s attacked in the woods and her best friend, Gretchen, is killed. The novel follows Sonia’s investigation into finding the culprit as well as dealing with the sudden loss of her best friend.

I really liked this book. It was intriguing and had me hooked from the first few chapters. There’s a lot of information and clues that swirl around as I continued reading and I especially enjoyed trying to figure out the whodunit. So many layers of the characters—there’s a lot!—are revealed throughout the chapters, and it was incredibly interesting to learn more about each character and how they all played a part in Gretchen’s death.

But I’m not going to lie: by the end of the novel, I was truly conflicted as to how I felt about the real culprit (I won’t spoil it for you; you have to find out yourself!), but I was really content about it. Hainsworth does a fantastic job in putting together such a meticulously detailed novel; I especially appreciate the time and effort that’s quite clear throughout every page.

The only thing I would have liked is more of an ending. I felt as if the story stopped suddenly and I had no idea what was going to happen next. I would definitely have loved to see what would happen to the relationship between Marcus and Sonia as well as Sonia and others.

Overall, TAKE THE FALL is undoubtedly one of the most intriguing books I’ve read this year. The novel is written with such careful detail that you can’t help but to be sucked in by the very first page. Check this one out for sure!

Rating: ★★★★

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 6.05.55 PM

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Take the Fall by Emily Hainsworth

  1. From the get-go this book’s blurb had gotten my interest and I instantly wanted to read it but as I started to read the reviews (most of which were mixed opinions) I began having second thoughts of how good this one would really be. The main issue I’m seeing with Take The fall is that people have been disappointed with the ending like you were and while that does have me intrigued to hurry up and read it to see what the fuss is, I’m also hesitant at reading it at all because I hate being let down by a good book’s horrible ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

