Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 9.35.25 PM

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find it more information here.

I’m not going to lie, I cry over books. I cry over good characterization, fantastic world-building, poignant language, etc. I literally cry over everything, to be honest. Anyway, today’s topic was a freebie so I wanted to list a few books that gave me a good cry so you can feel the pain too.

1. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

2. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

3. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

4. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

5. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

6. Horde by Ann Aguirre

7. Thicker than Water by Kelly Fiore

8. Looking for Alaska by John Green

9. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

10. One by Sarah Crossan


Have you read any of these books? What books did you cry over?

BTW, I’m really kicking butt with the whole aesthetic thing. I’m so happy.
31 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

  1. When a book provokes such a strong emotional reaction from me, I know I’ve found a great story. Between the sibling relationship, the tragic circumstances of their familial dynamic and the romances, I definitely cried my heart out at I’ll Give You the Sun. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta is another book that had me sobbing. It’s such a moving story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! Is it strange that I love a book that can make me cry?!? I have to say that Harry Potter is probably the ones that make me cry the most, especially the final book. I cried so much at One, I full on ugly sobbed at that. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma is one that makes me cry like nothing else.

    Here’s my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. im not usually one who cries while reading, but i gotta say i spilled some tears while reading clockwork princess, harry potter and the deathly hallows, and queen of shadows!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read An Ember in the Ashes and Looking for Alaska. I definitely cried when I read Looking for Alaska because it was so unexpected to me, but I don’t cry very often when I’m reading.

    One that has made me cry harder than any other is Hate List by Jennifer Brown. It’s one of my favorite books and I highly recommend it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

