– Why You Should Read Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace | ARC Review

22663629.jpg

Title: Shallow Graves
Author: Kali Wallace
Genre: YA Paranormal, Thriller

ISBN: 0062366203
Publication: January 26th 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books
Series: n/a
Length: 368 pages
Source: eARC from publisher

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

 

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.37.26 PM

Thank you to Harper Collins / Katherine Tegen Books for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed SHALLOW GRAVES! There were a few parts where I felt the conclusion and plot were lacking, but overall, I highly admired the writing in this book. Due to my enjoyment of this novel, it’s natural that I want to share some reasons why you should definitely consider picking this up when it releases January 26, 2016!

1. Paranormal Theme

Personally, I’m not a huge fan of paranormal themes in books. Despite that, I was quite taken with this book. If you are like me, you’ll be glad to know that the paranormal isn’t all up in your face; it’s more gentle with introducing you into the situation at hand. The first few pages reel you in, and I couldn’t stop reading!

2. Diversity

I’m always a huge sucker for diversity in books. As a fellow Asian, I was quite happy to find out that Breezy, our protagonist, is half-Asian as well! The diversity is amazing in this book; Breezy goes against the stereotypical Asian, and I really love that about her.

3. Witty Character Voice

I love witty characters. I love hearing their inner monologues as well as their personal thoughts about events they experience. Fans of ANGELFALL by Susan Ee (review here!) will surely enjoy Breezy’s voice in this book.


 

Overall, although there were some aspects of SHALLOW GRAVES that I did not like, it was an exciting and fascinating read. Highly recommend if you enjoy action (sorta) – packed, paranormal reads!

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 1.24.58 PM.png

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “– Why You Should Read Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace | ARC Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s