– Review: Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink, #1) by Mindy McGinnis

13112869

Genre: YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic

ISBN: 0062198505
Published: September 24th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
Series: #1 (Not a Drop to Drink, #1)
Length: 309 pages
Source: ebook

Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water.

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn’t leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.37.26 PM

I read little portions of this novel after my volunteering shift at the hospital whilst waiting for my ride home. Here’s a helpful reading tip: don’t read little increments of a book every Friday afternoon because you’ll forget about it and it won’t make sense. It’ll also get boring.

I love survival stories. It’s one of my favorite genres of YA literature. This is about a girl who has to survive and protect her home, all while protecting a little girl. But it didn’t sit that well with me. This probably had to do with the fact that I read it in many sittings.

What I loved about this book was the details about what Lynn, the badass MC, had to do to survive, such as collecting water, taking care of Lucy, protecting herself from bad people who come to steal water from the lake. What I didn’t like was that it didn’t seem to have a real plot. Lynn wasn’t really doing anything, except protecting her home. And babysitting a kid. There wasn’t really something Lynn had to do, like a underlying goal. Surviving is a good goal, but it can make the novel seem tedious. Although, the end of the book was probably the most exciting part of the novel.

Despite my thoughts on this book, I do believe Mindy McGinnis is an incredible author. She definitely has a way with words. I know she has another book coming out, A Madness So Discreet. I also know that many people love her novels, so I would still recommend reading her books.

I would recommend reading this book if you’re interested in survival stories. Maybe some kissing.

144238094271851

What do you think? Have you ever read this book? Leave your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “– Review: Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink, #1) by Mindy McGinnis

  1. What an intriguing blurb and an awesome cover this book has! I love survival stories too and the set up of the MC protecting her lake from strangers while also looking after a young child was so interesting to me. Of course I did expect for there to be more to it than that with maybe some action and mystery but I’m disappointed to hear that it doesn’t appear to be that way so I’m on the fence about this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

