– Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

515e3HFpceL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Genre: YA Contemporary, Coming of Age, Realistic

ISBN: 0803734964
Published: September 16th 2014 by Dial Books
Series: none
Length: 371 pages
Source: ebook

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.37.26 PM

I’ve said it a million times and I’ll say it again. This is my favorite book. I loved it so much.

Jandy Nelson is truly talented. This novel made me cry; it was amazing.

The novel is written in several different points of view. Usually I’m good with reading POVs in the female MC’s and the male MC’s POVs, which is what this novel features. But what’s different is that these POVs are also in different time periods.

I’ll Give You the Sun goes back and forth between Noah and Jude and their lives after their mom dies. It explores the estranged relationship the siblings have with each other and the peculiarity of their father after the mothers’ death. It also discusses LGBT, infidelity, and love. It’s truly a beautiful story.

I don’t want to spoil any of this novel because it was such a treasure to me. I highly recommend it, even if you don’t like contemporary.

144211597020918

What do you think? Have you read this book before? Leave a comment.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “– Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. Even though you don’t elaborate too much on this book so not to spoil, you really have sold me on wanting to read it! This sounds like an absolutely beautiful book and I just love reading about family relationships especially when there’s drama, heartbreak and of course love is at the center. Can’t wait to read!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s